You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Announcing Project Curie: Bringing Rewards and Recognition to Steemit’s Undiscovered and Emerging Authors

in #steemit8 years ago

Great post! As someone who put together a follow vote bot to support the @robinhoodwhale project, can you help me understand and elaborate on your request to add a five minute delay? What does that accomplish for the author and the network? Also, would it be helpful for others to announce their curation team efforts for supporters to follow vote in order to increase the Steem Power involved?

Side note: early on, I was very cautious to auto vote something. Since running the bot on ronbinhoodwhale, I've changed my opinion. If the voter being followed is trustworthy, the vote list becomes my favorite reading list of great content! I also have time to remove my vote if needed.

Thanks for listening to my questions and input. Again, great work!

Sort:  

We are worried about bot wars. By adding a 5 minute delay, we know that only those that really want to help authors will add their bots, and not just trigger a bot war to cash in on free curation rewards. We also wish to attract more whales to the project to reward more authors, and offering them curation rewards is an incentive and a method of generating revenue.

Interesting. I guess I could see how people might vote on anything added to the curie channel which might decrease the whale curation reward. Still though, it would increase the reward for the author which, I thought, is the whole point. I get what you mean, though. There has to be a balance between incentives and goals. The whales make the world go round, so keeping the incentivized is critical to the project's success.

I'm not asking for altruism on the whale's part. In fact, in the long term, I think it's in their best interest to spread around the wealth a bit more which might include giving others higher curation rewards. Having STEEM spread around will increase the long term value of STEEM for everyone, IMO. It's even been suggested they should power down and let their STEEM dilute. Not sure about that approach, but the goal of everyone owning some value in STEEM makes a lot of sense to me. No one wants to be holding millions of worthless tokens while the crowd goes elsewhere.

Seems like they want to make sure they can all get a chance to vote before the whales they're working with, so they can maximise their own personal curation rewards...

We never vote before the whales.
(Except for backup proxy-voting)