Let me get this straight: some newbie observations

in #steemit8 years ago



Today is day 3 for me on Steemit. Its been a lovely experience so far... the variety of topics that I have been exposed to across the board have been awesome. I've read articles from art, to people's journeys across states/ countries, to enlightment, meditation excercises, various forms of what I like to call intelligent humor (vs shallow humor that is shared on other social media platforms) and many articles on Steemit itself. I had questions, googled them, and there were always results with a Steemit post that answered them. So I thought I'd post some things I came up with that I was unaware of when I started with Steemit. Make sure I have them correct, as well have them available for other people who are new and might be equally unaware/confused.

Giving upvotes do not necessarily earn you incentives
On my first day, I read that upvoting nets you a piece of the rewards. I also read that it was vetter to vote early, as one of the first voters, on an article you thought would do well. So, exploring, I did that. Of course, only on articles I was truly interested, but I focused efforts on getting some upvotes out there. One, to support the author, and two, to get a bit of a bank rolling so I could then convert to Steem Power, and thus have more weight on my upvotes and more impact on the author's rewards. I got a few votes in early on for posts that did well. I was excited! I eagerly awaited payout end time and!... nothing. What?! So I google and research and read. It seems that your votes both increase in weight and worth as wrll as what comes back to you based on your Steem Power. So, increasing your Steem Power should be a primary focus if your goal is to have weight and return on your upvotes. You can check the value of your vote here: http://www.steemdollar.com/dollar_per_vote.php?
It will give you a generic "this account's votes are worth $0, so be sure to enter your username for accurate results.)
Upvoting is not useless at this stage though, its still great support for content you appreciate, as well as a good way to make friends and followers.

Commenting and adding value to a post and discussion benefits you regardless of your Steem Power.
As I understand it, your Steem Power does not play in to the rewards you receive from commenting and adding discussion to an article. Your comments can be upvoted, earing you rewards, as well as your contribution to the discussion.

I'm not stating these as definitive facts, rather my understanding so far. Please feel free to correct me or add information if you feel so inclined. Anyone reading this, please check the comments for any corrections or additional information that may be contributed from other users.

I'm looking forward to growing my understanding and contribution in this fine community. It has been a welcomed respite from the negativity, conpetition, and shallow things that are so prevalent and even encouraged on other social media. Thank you for this refreshing community!

Sort:  

Steam power also matters on comments but posters willow ten give votes to those who make good comments on their thread. This build reputation, followers and can be sbd.

Yes, I agree its courteous to upvote a comment on your thread. It what way does Steem power affect comments? Aside from- the Steem power of someone giving a comment an upvote would correlate with the amount that upvote produces- if indeed that is a correct assumption itself?

That's how. It also helps your reputation. Also notice you can choose to rank comments however you want default to trending.

Great thanks! Just making sure I understand. :) Thanks for your input!

Thanks for the tips.

You're welcome! I'm glad you found them helpful. :) Welcome to Streemit and enjoy your experience!

Nice post....
Don't forget not to exhaust your voting power, you can check it here.
https://steemd.com/@mahma

Thank you! And thanks for that additional link. I did come across it over the past few days, but 1) completely forgot about it and 2) I knew it provided useful information, but wasn't sure in what way yet. Now that you say not to exhaust your voting power, it makes perfect sense, and I was able to locate the relevant information. Thanks!

Damnit. My vote is apparently worth a big goose egg. lol.

[edit]... it took 7 minutes but now populated with a value

Lol maybe in terms of rewards, but personally I think it feels awesome to get an upvote regardless of whetger it is worth anything monetarily. Don't get me wrong, a post that netted a big chunk of change would be awesome, but it also feels good to know your post is seen and appreciated. I'd gladly have a goose egg vote vs crickets on my post and wondering if anyone saw it at all. Lol.

yeah I wish there was more feedback... like "I read it... not worthy of a vote though", or something. I have no idea if my content is seen or read or just sinks to the bottom like a dead fish.

Yea, I agree with everything you said. I've started to comment something along those lines; I might not have something to really contribute or start a discussion, but I'll at least let them know I read and appreciated their article. I gave you a follow, and although my votes aren't worth anything either, I'll try to pop in and let ya know your content is being read. :)

Sweet! I'll do the same :-)

I appreciate it @hunterisgreat ! :)

this was super helpful for a newbie like me, haha! thanks for the informative post ^^

Yoy're welcome! Glad it was helpful! :)