You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Steemit Is A Giant Circle-Jerk And How To Make It Work In Your Favor

in #steemit6 years ago

I took this string of comments as inspiration and looked at some of the available numbers to see if this is indeed the case, and did a quick write up on it, if you're interested. Tl;dr: By the metrics I looked at, even when you control for the high male-to-female ratio on Steemit, women are underrepresented among the most successful users on the site. But I was only able to use certain data points and you'd have to look at other metrics as well and insert some controls if you wanted to do a thorough study.

Sort:  

Maybe I wasn't clear enough in how I worded my comment, but if we assume none of the devs were female, none of the original shadow-miners were female, and that it's quite possible that investment in steem reflects investment in crypto in general as far as fewer women investing big, I was saying that the numbers you're looking at makes it look like they're underrepresented, but we have to look at how a lot of those people got their initial momentum to see more of the picture. I guess we can go and see how many of the early users who weren't part of the pre-mine actually bought steem and powered up vs getting their initial posts voted on.

Oh, and we can see a clear bias as far as who got those fat, controversial delegations from steemit inc. Not downplaying the effort the real ones put in.

I hear you, and if you look at my methodology, I actually took those factors into account and controlled for them as best I could. I started off by giving men a 5-to-1 starting advantage based on Alexa statistics for the demographics of Steemit as a whole. I also looked at two metrics--follower counts, and author rewards. While both of those things are of course impacted by Steem Power, I felt that author rewards would be the more valuable metric because it would have to come from user generated content.