You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A THANK YOU to a Ridiculously Generous Steemian, @nomad-magus

in #steemit6 years ago

I find different motivations for being here. For instance, I had never written fiction (in adulthood) until I got here and was persuaded to try out the freewrite thing. I always thought I would be awful at it. All I had ever written was diary entries, academic history articles, and long rants about stuff I care about. It turns out that once I put my mind to it and forced myself to spend five minutes crafting a story, I wasn't totally terrible at it, and people seemed to like reading it. I never would have had the confidence to do that before; certainly not in any professional capacity. In the past few years, I had gone through months-long phases of never putting pen to paper (or the metaphorical pen to paper, in this case). Now I feel this nagging (but productive) need to keep practicing, and to keep making more stuff for others to enjoy. I just made a two month long commitment through this generous gift to keep going here, and I think that's good for me. I really don't expect fantastic riches in the long run, because you are right, it is not economical. But maybe it will eventually give me the confidence to write a novel and shop it around. I see a lot of possibilities in contributing to this platform.