Real Followers much?

in #steemit7 years ago

It occurs to me in recent activities that the amount of followers are not the point but the amount of meaningful followers! This may seem trivial but look at this from the outside. I see all the big whales. What do they all have in common? They are following a lot of people and a lot of people follow them. their post rake in a ton of Steemit money..... so in the last 24 hours i went from a few followers to over 300... my newest post s still only get roughly 20 cents give or take. This means that the number of followers don't matter rather the number of meaningful followers....now that I know this should be smooth sailing!!chrissy's phone 073.jpg
this guy is one of my meaningful followers!

Here are my most meaningful posts.

https://steemit.com/native/@manbeak/my-friend-the-turtle
https://steemit.com/native/@manbeak/the-bead-work
https://steemit.com/native/@manbeak/capt-native-america
https://steemit.com/native/@manbeak/my-prayer-pipe-not-for-weed-or-tobacco!

My introduction post needs some love too!

https://steemit.com/native/@manbeak/i-am-native

Sort:  

Very interesting blog, I follow who I am likeminded with, I look at every page of my followers and some of them have things I don't like at all and can't even comment on, while doing this I have found some great people with great quality posts keep on steeming!

I have few followers but quality ones. I even unfollowed some people so my legit followers' posts don't get buried from resteems and shitty posts.

I don't want people to follow me so I just follow them back.

Wow I was just pondering that.... wonder if I should go through and unfollow those 2000 people i started following just for their follow back. or if I should go through and check each and keep the ones I like

Yes. You follow me and I follow you back won't get you the money.
It is content that will make you money. Although what you really want is to make the best content you can really write. Even if you only make $0.02 off a blog of yours. If every blog you make is good, of interest, uplifting or funny, sooner or later the whales will find you.

Also make sure that your title is the best you can come up with to hook the reader of the feeds. The most important are the title and the first sentence. As those will be seen in your thumbnail feeds. Think of it as your advertising. Whales are looking at it. It may be the only thing they see of you. Be consistent.

If someone does follow you check their content. If you like what you read follow. We all have stories inside of us. Sometimes I will go back decades to find a memory of interest then write about it.

If you have no pictures then use Pexels.com or Pixabay.com and find pictures are similar to what you are writing about.

Also look at others content. Up vote the ones that you like and give a sincere detailed comment.

When commenting on others content think of your comment as a mini blog. To me this comment I am leaving is like a mini blog. Later if I want I might take this comment/mini blog and write a blog based on it. Plus it is good practice for me as we are all in a race.

Steemit is very young. We have to work hard now so in a year from now we will have whales discovering us. Remember if your content is there then sooner or later the whales will find you.

The insight is deep in this one. lol yes it is a Yoda reference . These words are inspiring. to me. I was hopeful when I joined and I am taking this seriously not because of money....I have a lot going for myself I have built a career and reputation. But I wanted this to add to Mychildren when I can no longer provide for them to leave them something. I wanted to use my introverted thoughts to reach others and help others. I have so many reasons but I know the more money a post makes the more people see it and the more people it reaches. so the money for my children and the positive messages for the masses . My part in the balance! Thanks for you post definite follow

Congratulations @manbeak! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!