You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Future of Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

I like to break or bend the rules. I bought this electric smoker from Lowes a few months ago and it explicity says "outdoor use only", but it got rained on and I like it so much, because it only uses 1100 watts of electricity and it takes about 4-5 hours to smoke a ham or turkey to PERFECTION. 5hrs @ 14 cents per Kwh= 77 cents to smoke a turkey or ham. A bag of charcoal is almost $10-20 US, and the cost savings is paid for it already. I used a new 4" aluminum dryer duct to vent the smoke from the wood chips ($4.95 a bag, and smoked over 15 hams and turkeys for the holidays) in the comfort of my home- even when its raining outside. When Im done smoking the meats, I empty the drip pan over my dogs food bowl, and roll it into the laundry room and store my smoke vent on top of it. sometimes the rule NEED to be broken for process improvent and assymetrical problem solving. I put a moist washcloth around the top of the exhaust vent and no smoke comes inside. Look at that 20lb turkey in there. MMMM.