Steemit is no race for popularity : my feedback on steemit

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone !

I am a newbie... yes, but a smart one.
Why do the articles we post generate value for only a week ? Is'n it the best way to make a flood with nothing worthy ? I am a history teacher, tired of stupid bullshit and race for popularity. I came here to enhance SMART CONTENT but how is it possible if we encourage people to post more and more everyday ? Do we want to make new screens addicts ? Or an even more narcissist society ? So if a brilliant but lonely physicist choose steemit to publish he will be less paid than someone who post his photography challenge everyday ? This for me is a non sense. I love this network but I can't stand this. There is no way this plateform will not turn in a new stupid exchange of what value is for people who scroll all the time instead of thinking and chosing what they are posting very wisely. Wise people don't express themselves often but when they do speak they are heard. Popularity is not the answer for smart content neither because it enhance fast reading articles. I do not claim I have the solution but I hope we could find one together with all this beatifull community. And by beautifull community I don't speak about people only interest in earning money by upvoting like robots. I mean the people who want to change the way we create value.

Changing the world ain't easy. I tried to be honnest. I hope it will be heard as a constructive critic and not a bad intention.

Thank you for reading and sharing your point of view with me. image

Sort:  

You are right. But smart content needs rather more time to be created and then to be noticed. That's why many people prefer the lighter one.

Exactly ! this is a paradox that ain't enhancing smart content. I follow news about Smart Media Tokens hoping that there will be an answer to this issue :) education is the key of harmony <3

I do not claim I have the solution but I hope we could find one together with all this beatifull community. And by beautifull community I don't speak about people only interest in earning money by upvoting like robots. I mean the people who want to change the way we create value.

Changing the world ain't easy. I tried to be honnest. I hope it will be heard as a constructive critic and not a bad intention.

I actually believe I have an idea as to how to better determine what is valuable on this platform and truly any platform. I think the problem lies in the binary nature of an upvote. It is either up or down. One cannot express why the enjoyed something with so little information. I think if we begin to evaluate content not just with mindless scrolling and clicking a thumbs up or upvote but rather by describing and enumerating WHY something has value to us, we can then begin to promote truly VALUABLE content.

For example, @exyle is constantly on the front page, making hundreds of dollars with his daily vlog. I have nothing against him personally, but it appears there are people putting more effort and thought into their content who aren't even close to registering the same impact. Now, I'm not saying that his content is any less valuable per se, but I certainly don't believe, from the limited time I've spent viewing his content, that it is orders of magnitude more valuable than other content I've viewed.

I would love to hear your thoughts on my post.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@halfjew22/feedback-on-steemit-after-my-brief-experience-and-how-i-think-we-can-improve-voting-systems-in-general