You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dude Where's Our Votes? #DolphinSchool, the vote weirdness of the past two days and a balanced approach to it!

in #steemit8 years ago

Well ,my theory has revamped a little. Other than the vote count being low that one day, most of the rest is due to low steem prices, which is our fault for letting things go so negative on here that the place looks like a bitch fest to new users.

Sort:  

I hadn't noticed the bitch-fest so maybe it's not so apparent to more casual users like myself? What I have noticed as a noob is not really all that surprising - the platform is a social network first, and content platform second. Personally I love what steemit offers for bloggers and users. What I don't like so much is all the 'gaming' - especially the gambling all-or-nothing aspect to payments, which means that many people vote largely for the popular horses that are most likely to pay out, and not primarily for the quality of the content. Right now it works for some authors who commit their whole time to the platform and do LOTS of postings and networking. Though even then I keep seeing posts with 200 votes that make no money, and this is concerning in that it might drive some people away. Also, for professional authors hoping to monetize serials and projects here - payments are too precarious, too hit-and-miss, to make that a practical option just now. Especially with a lack of a 'subscription' feature.

But I guess all this could change with an influx of new users and less 'gaming' in general, and a more even distribution of funds through dilution. It's easy to forget that it's still Steemit- BETA.

Anyway, I was still under the impression that I only had 5 power votes a day, so I appreciate you spreading the good news about this, and all your other helpful posts. I'm gladdened to see all your hard efforts and good work being rewarded here!

Spread the word! Since I put that up, my vote counts are up, but the price of steem being down keeps the SBD payout low daily, so not as much money. It will all come back and grow from there.