One Of My Favorite Movies: "GUMMO," Written & Directed By Harmony Korine. (If you like weird, you will fall in love with this)

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)




The trailer kicks off blasting the intro to Madonna's "Like A Prayer," with two Jehovah Witness twin brothers spitting into the lens of the camera, switching to the lovely Chloë Sevigny, sans-eyebrows, pulling her bleach blonde hair back in slow motion with black taped up nipples in order to make them "puffier." Cut to Solomon, Red Ryder strapped to his back that he uses to hunt feral cats in order to sell the meat to a local butcher for a dollar a pound, cruising down a long hill in Xenia, Ohio. Cut to a no-toed, Patrick Swayze loving albino on the hood of a car and then to a malnourished pale boy making a muscle, displaying his strength. Cut to Tummler, gazing at where his dad is sitting in the driver's seat with the look of depression written all over his face; his brother loves Roy Orbison and is not transitioning into a woman, he has moved away; Tummler has turned to a life of huffing glue. Cut to Solomon chatting with his newly found prostitute with Downs Syndrome having his cherry scented soap smell admired and being informed that he will be a millionaire; they confess their love to one another. Now to a tennis playing Ritalin users gulping down some water after smashing some tennis balls while being admired by some local girls. Bunny Boy on the overpass. A golden hearted mentally retarded woman smiles to the camera. Solomon sits in the brown water tub. Bunny Boy stands in the middle of the road. Tummler discovers breast cancer in an abandoned car. Black-faced man stands in the corner. Solomon exercises in his basement with bundles of taped together silverware as his mother tap dances behind him in his dead father's old tap shoes.

That's a short summation of half of the trailer . . . That should give you enough of an idea of the chaos and insanity that is this movie. To me, it's absolutely beautiful and one of the rawest, meanest, most disturbing compilations of scenes I have ever seen assembled and it leaves me reeling for more. Believe it or not, the above description doesn't even begin to scratch the surface of this movie. You will either not be able to turn away, or you will do so immediately and possibly flag me for introducing you to this.


The only coherent storyline pieces of that this is the remnants of Xenia, Ohio after a tornado struck and destroyed their way of life. It was forgotten and never repaired, people simply endured and the conditions bred some bizarre scenarios in the people that had no other choice but to remain.

No go out and find this movie. If you enjoy it, explore some other works by Harmony Korine. He can and will disturb and intrigue you.

Overrrrrr and out!

  • MATT-A

P.S. Be sure to check out our up and coming newborn baby company with aspirations of liberty for all and the progression of amazing technologies, @AGORIC.SYSTEMS, spearheaded by myself, @robrigo, @rahulyadav, @lovejoy, @sensei, and @timothy-archer. Show 'em some love! They will love you, hold you, and give you many kisses on the cheek. Well, maybe not all that, but they all rule and will get you thoroughly entertained and informed.

Sort:  

I love GUMMO! Though as a cat lover I had to look away or sigh a few times hehe!

Same sentiment here! I have three cat babies and I gotta remind myself anytime I watch it that it's all fake.

Hehe! Luckily we love the weird and crazy and no fur baby has been harmed!

will get it tonight and see what is going on! If i like weird ? my tops box sets are Monty Pythons which are weird & british ! lol

Gumo!!!! Never thought I would see it on steemit ! I remember the first time my brother showed it to me, this and the movie KIDS,also can't forget how DMX an Nas introduced this movie Gumo In the movie belly ...great post for cult classics!!!!

Well here it is!

Wtf it was mentioned in Belly?!

What a strange film! David Lynch nervously smokes on the sidelines :)

I'll definitely watch it.

This is something haha

The movie is pure insanity. He's one of my favorite film makers of all time, if not my very favorite.

I was literally JUST TALKING TO MY COUSIN about this movie.

OMG... is this just a Kentucky thing? Love GUMMO! Haven't seen it in years!

You know it was actually shot in Nashville? Korine rules to death.

That's cool! Very fucked up movie. Might make @cryptomomma watch it today 😁

DO IT!!!

Have you watched Kids, Julien Donkey Boy, Trash Humpers, Ken Park, Mister Lonely, or Spring Breakers?

I haven't, but have been looking for something to watch

Nah man, never seen this. It's quite riveting however...now i'm interested. lol (¯﹃¯*)

Gotta love! One of my faves too!

When you make the hot page with your own vote 😲😲💟

Woah, didn't realize that! That's kind of cool.

It seems interesting to watch @matt-a
I will see if I can get a copy.

Of course I like it because of the weirdness ..

I never heard of Harmony Korine or this film. Thank you for sharing it I will definately look it up.

Resteeming

Well if you enjoy the bizarre reaches of film and art, you're in for one hell of a treat. The guy is a boundary pusher, and those are the types of people that I admire.

Thanks, man!

Im looking forward to exploring his work. As we all know the majority of traditional mainstream film is so sanitized and dumbed down.

Thanks again for the post.

Man, you just disturbed and weirded-out a bunch of people with this. haha
This is definitely a piece of work. Its hard to comprehend how Harmony even came up with half of the stuff in Gummo.

The girl shaving her eye brows always seemed to physically hurt me, by going over her eyebrows 20+ times too many.

I feel the same way, man! She goes over and over and over and over and over and over those bare brows with a razor . . . I just can't do it. Then she has to pet he baby's little bald head. There will never be another movie like this.

It was literally at least three or four minutes of her going over already shaved eyebrows! Haha
Them looking raw as FUCK! On the verge of bleeding.
For people who don't know, Harmony Korine(the director) actually plays a role in the movie. Which is pretty weird.

Here's the scene in question:

That's it. SOOO uncomfortable! Isn't this a PG movie? Haha

Remember how pissed off that guy was when the midget beat him in arm wrestling? Hahahaha!

Uuuhhhhhhhhhhhhhh NO. This is very R haha.

Hahaha! Perfect! That's the party where it went down.

That guy making out with the little guy is the creator of the movie ,thats the crazy thing

Yep, the dude in the 80s looking windbreaker on the red couch is Harmony Korine.

That's the creator ! ...hugged up on little man there! Haha.... Why he chose this seen to be in , ill never know

Swish swish bishbish 😂😂😂😂 I hate it and love it at the same time !

So funny moment

I know I'm late to the party but I can remember when I'd seen this movie. My friend and I went to a blockbuster and he told me his strategy was to just pick something that had "different" artwork for the cover. From the cat catching, girl being taken in the Lincoln and other absolute weirdness of the movie I found it to be awesome and disturbing at the same time...lol

Congratulations @matt-a! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @matt-a! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Have you heard anything about claimed rewards missing? @modernnomad seems to have claimed some rewards and I can't see any trace of them. Maybe I'm over looking them? Its from 2 days ago. The last author post he claimed the payout for.

Wow!! That is definitely unique :)
I see you recently upvoted my post on the wire cars the kids make in Mozambique...
Thanks a mil for the upvote man :)