Retaining new steemians - A handy trick to help beginners build their feed.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

When we first arrive, one of our first big questions is,
'Who should I follow'?

Those of us who've been here a while will struggle more with 'Who should I unfollow?', so it may be hard to remember back that far, but it's a common concern raised by those I've recruited to the platform.

I found a neat trick, which I haven't seen mentioned elsewhere.

If you click on my username and go to my blog, you can see my URL in the address bar.

steemit.com/@mattclarke

If you manually type /feed at the end of it, you get to scroll through my feed as if it were your own and follow any authors you like.

steemit.com/@mattclarke/feed



I've been deliberately, carefully following and unfollowing authors for almost 18 months now.

Now friends I've recruited can enjoy the benefit of this carefully managed feed, and those authors who've made the cut can enjoy a steady stream of new eyeballs.


Source

We can use a bit of wizardry to make it even easier.

[Click here to see what I see](steemit.com/@mattclarke/feed)

Looks like this - Click here to see what I see

You've begged, cajoled and bribed your friends and family to join up; now show them the platform through your eyes, so they can fall in love with it too.

Sort:  

Hey! Glad you made a post about this! Working a charm since you taught me ! Cheers :)

A happy customer :)

Well, this is an absolutely awesome trick and I'm really happy to see a more prominent Steemian talk about it as it seems that only a handful of people saw my old post about it a few months back. It was a really inspiring moment for me because I could see much better curated feeds than my own and it was an intensive time of great discovery and inspiration.

I've actually "snooped around" your feed before on numerous occasions
and I can absolutely testify that it is very well curated and an awesome place to start one's steem journey from!

I just went back and read it.
Incredibly similar. Great minds :)

If I remember I'm going to steal this and post this a couple of months from now as I've done this to see who others are following, but never thought about sharings as to why I do this. If I have time I'll have to see later today what steemit is like through @mattclarke's eyes.

Strap yourself in :)

Cool post @mattclarke !

I'm seeing what you see right now.

I've been automatically following people that follow me until now, but I seriously need to re-evaluate who I follow. I'm getting all sorts of crap dropped in my feed.

Yeah. You may as well just live in NEW.
Make them earn it :)

Yeah, very handy to use, especially to see what your community members are posting without having to follow them all. https://steemit.com/@teamaustralia/feed

If you like what you see, then you can add them to you own feed.

That’s an incredibly useful tip. Thanks Matt.

I sometimes struggle with who to follow and unfollow as well. I recently went through and cut out some of the people that I followed when Infirst joined.

To be honest, I now follow mostly my fellow Aussies who I interact with here the most.

I have done this for a while now just to have a quick look at what others may see. I have also become much faster at shifting through profiles by using the same process. The form of the urls for Steemit is really good for this and it is great to be able to see what other's feeds are. Imagine if Facebook was the same.

Yes I do this too.
Just double click their username and type in the next person you want to look at.

Wow , I am on here for the second month but you have just taught me something new. Thanks Matt!

Following you now :-)

Clever. I have a habit of not checking my feed very often, because some people resteem way to much and it gets a bit overwhelming. I feel a bit bad unfollowing though because some are friends.

Only resteem for the benefit of your followers.
Don't do it because you like the author.
That's my rule.
If you see I've resteemed something, its because I think you'll like it.

Good thinking. I tend to resteem because it's something I want to be able to find again! Lol

If you want to see it twice, I guess that's a good sign your followers will want to see it at least once? :)

I don't really check my feed very often either. I usually just go through the list of those I'm following, checking in on a handful at a time several times throughout the day. Somehow it's easier to surf thru their resteems and find their original articles.

I'm just going through my follows at the moment, to see if I can get any easier to work with feed. Failing that, I might just take your approach.

It's a great little trick that I keep refinding... but everytime I use it, I start to miss my own feed. It's a very handy little suggestion though, and one I'll try to pass onto newcomers as I find them.

You are so super helpful Matt! Thanks heaps dude!!

Interesting idea man, it's a good way to see some content. When i recruited @ejr I also suggested he just start by following my entire list then add and delete from there. I find it's very fast to follow from someone's following list, it has the button right next to the name, in like 30 seconds you can follow a couple hundred people.

This can definitely be very useful for us newbies! Thanks for the post!

You're becoming the tutorial king my friend :) #loveyourwork

Awesome trick. Coincidently I was facing the same questions being a beginner on this platform. It could be the solution to filter out and develop the community where I would want to spend my time. Thanks for sharing.
I must say, the innocent angel in picture is so so cute.

Thanks mate. I'm trying to put her down for the night right now. Not such an angel at the moment, but yes, she's a beautiful kid.
Cheers :)

Hello there!

Glad to have stumbled upon you following the Steemit breadcrumb trail.

Been looking at my feed whilst knowing that I need to weed my beds!

This is a neat trick and one that I will be using as I continue to up my game.

And so, having followed/upvoted, I thank-you.

:)

I am an artist/writer/lightworker with much to say; usually couched in everyday kitchen sink spirituality ~ I invite you to pop by for a browse if you have a spare moment.

Be well.

xox

How handy! Thanks for this tip! This just saved me so much scrolling time trying to find posts to follow! 😊

I will try to thank you for the information @mattclarke

Very interesting addition, I did not know that it was possible and I think it's very convenient for beginners! Thank you @mattclarke

That's really cool actually. I wasn't aware of this at all. Resteemed!

Ha, interesting, not only for newbies... (Although I'm still one). Because it allows you to see what others find interesting, not just want others want you to see about them. Wonderful, thanks for sharing this info!

Thanks for sharing. This is something I have struggled with. I am only following around 98 people and feel guilty about it. Thanks Matt.

Excellent update steemit, amazing post, thanks for sharing

That is neat @mattclarke! Thanks for sharing. Time to explore :)

excileant steemit post ...If you manually type /feed at the end of it, you get to scroll through my feed as if it were your own and follow any authors you like.

Thank you for the good referral

Good tips. Thank you.

Congratulations @mattclarke! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!