Dear Facebook Friends

in #steemit7 years ago

I have been absent from Facebook for over a year now, and, I have to say, I don't miss it, not even a little bit.

ap_facebook_dislike_kb_141212_31x13_992.jpgIMAGE SOURCE

I have moved my time and attention to Steemit.com, a social media site built on a blockchain that pays you in cryptocurrency for your participation. You post or vote, you earn, it really is that simple.

I have earned over 1100 STEEM in the year that I have been on Steemit. If I cashed out now, that would be worth around $1200 USD! For posting about my life! I have over 850 followers and 1600 posts. Here is what my front page looks like.

Screenshot_2017-09-20-14-06-20.png

Since joining, I have become more calm, more relaxed, friendlier, and less introverted. I have also become more computer savvy and have seen my creativity soar. I write poems and stories, take beautiful photographs, and have started drawing again.

What is Cryptocurrency?

Cryptocurrency is decentralized money. STEEM is the cryptocurrency of Steemit. You can save it, transfer it, or spend it on sites like PEERHUB, or trade it for Bitcoin easily through @blocktrades.

Why Crypto?

Crypto or cryptocurrency is the future of money. It has no king or boss, it is you and I transacting freely with no middle man. It is almost impossible to trace or tax, therefore going around your governments' ability to stop you or make you pay a cut. Government is force, crypto is voluntary. I would much rather pay you a little extra knowing there is no strongarm then give a penny to my undeserving, unserving government.

Don't drug dealers and killers use Bitcoin?

The biggest gang of drug dealers and killers is the US government, they don't like Bitcoin.

While there is some illegal trade using crypto, the largest part of it is people like you and I. People looking for a better way to live our lives, searching for an alternative to the broken system we live in presently. There are billions, if not hundreds of billions in illegal cash transactions, compared to hundreds of thousands, if that, of illegal crypto transactions and besides, the government says crypto is not money, so, no matter what you get, you are trading intangible coins for it, right? Therefore you aren't buying drugs, you are trading them for thin air according to some.

Why Should I Care?

You should participate in the blockchain because not only is it the future of money, but, it could be the key to all of our futures. If we can get money out of the hands of politicians, we can all live freely. All of us, the entire world. If there is no funding for governments to commit mass murder, the mass murder will end. If governments cannot control the systems, the people will, as it should be. Humanity as a whole can thrive instead of most of us being on our knees, begging for a meal and a bandaid.

Cryptocurrency will also go a long way towards healing a lot of wounds inflicted on humanity through racism, nationalism, sexism etc. The blockchain does not recognize color of skin or national origin. The belief is that crypto should be anonymous, unfettering us from hatred.

What is the Problem With Facebook?

Facebook is owned by one guy. He has his own belief system and maybe an agenda. There is hatred everywhere I look on FB and it is fed to you by FB through their advertising and their news feed. Then it is disseminated without checking by it's users, who get worked up into a froth about stupid things like immigration and race baiting. I know, I was one of you a year ago. My anger kept building and there was no way to vent it but FB. I was becoming someone I did not like at all. I spewed bigotry and hate about nothing of consequence and, although I hated it and myself, I could not resist. Just look at what has been done to you that they admitted. Do you think they stopped?

They didn't. If this is not enough to make you look elsewhere, what is?

To Sum It All Up

  • I have shown you the future of social media

  • I have outlined the problems with the platform you are currently using

  • I have told you how to get paid for your story and your opinion

So what are you waiting for? Join the revolution today!

My Steemit name is @matthewtii , get your free account and look me up. I can answer most if not all of your questions or can lead you to someone who can. I look forward to seeing the real you on Steemit. I will not be looking on FB (though I will post Steemit content).

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This is exactly what I would (and should) say to all my facebook-"friends"!!! Great idea to use Facebook for posting your Steemit-posts! I just gave you an 100% upvote and I will resteem this post to my 600+ followers! (I might even share it on my Facebook) 😉 greatly written post! I like your attitude! Keep up the good work!!

Thank you for your encouragement. I wonder if FB will hide it.;)

Maybe your friends miss you on fb

That all the more reason to join Steemit ;)