Buying Steem not too easy

in #steemit7 years ago

I am working on buying some steem to try out. The first step is to set up a coinbase account. I noticed the 3.75% fee.
I was under the impression that the whole idea of crypto was that there were no fees. Well the site didn't recognize my credit card so I moved on. Next I will try out Bitcoin I think I can purchase steem with Bitcoin. I wonder why they make it so confusing I am surprised how many people are investing. I figured out eBay and PayPal in a few hours and selling stuff the same day!
This is going to take awhile. My first clue that this crypto thing was going to be arduous was the 50 character password that I am sure I will end losing and lock myself out. The steem price was 1.24 but I am not sure what that is in US Dollars. I think value of the dollar is greater than the value of the Steem. I usually learn by doing, so that is why I am trying to buy now so I learn.
I hope to get on board soon before the price starts to jump up to big numbers.

This is a cool site and I hope to figure it out soon.

Sort:  

I started on steem not so long ago i was in the same boat as you.
I just bought some bitcoin and then sended them to bittrex to buy Steem.
Then with my steem i created an account on steemit and just sended my steem on bittrex to steemit and voila :)
hope that helped you

Thanks I will work with bittrex. Do you know the value of steem compared to the US dollar?

Just use https://coinmarketcap.com/ to know the value of the coins :)