Can you tweak the value of your upvote?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

In one of my posts I noticed a curious situation. A couple of users upvoted the post, and there was one comment. I was surprised to see that the comment had higher up-vote, just from one vote - from the comment author. I was even more surprised to realize that he upvoted the post, too!

So one user upvoted his comment (by himself) and my post (with 7 other users), and the upvote value for the comment was higher than for the post.

I thought there is no other way to control your voting value than buying or selling Steem Power. And there was clearly more Steem Power behind the upvotes for the post. Of course, @dwcp could have powered up between upvoting my post and his comment, but that's not the thing you usually do between two upvotes, right? I did some small testing, but couldn't get the same effect with my votes and comments.

Any ideas anyone? Is it just a random coincidence, a bug, a feature?

Steem-Capture.JPG
This is the screenshot of the comment section, and the link to the post again.

Sort:  

When you get more than 1,800 SP (I don't know the exact limit !), you can choose which percentage of your upvote you give to an author.

This is a very good question and I'd like to help you with that.

There are more than one platform to use Steem on, Steemit is the most popular one though. On Steemit you will get a "slider" at 500 SP, which gives you opportunity to give smaller votes than the "regular" vote, which is so called 100% vote.

You can give a vote from 1-100%. Simply put, 50% vote will be 50% of the value, BUT you will lose only 50% of the VP you normally would (meaning a 1% VP loss instead of 2%).

Some users are giving a post small upvote, upvoting themselves bigger and maybe hoping they will attract more upvotes for their comment.

You can check the upvote size (and your VP) from services like steemd.

You can find your own from here https://steemd.com/@michalecki

Please remember to be extremely careful when clicking links left by other users!

Thank you, @suomibotti!!!

So basically it is a feature, I didn't know about it. Actually, it makes perfect sense.

I should make more research before posting question next time! ;-)

Congratulations @michalecki! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!