Sort:  

Good vlog. Not a fan of mining for Steemit tokens to open new accounts at all. The barrier of entry needs to be as easy as possible for new users as Steemit will be the first introduction to crypto for many of these new users. We need to retain and educate these users in a simple and relatively quick fashion. The Steem. Center website is great. I'll start including it in all my posts going forward to promote knowledge of the Steemit eco-system.

Thanks for that @orionschariot - tune in daily for more tips and tricks! :)

I was wondering why there is no such a thing like a wiki :) Well happy to find that is a reality :)

Enjoy the digging @teodora :)

Nice shirt. I get lost in the technicalities of the Steem economy. Some mechanism that requires new users to do some work to earn their initial SP might help. We just need to ramp up recruitment without getting flooded with spam

Perhaps some kind of easy online mining using their PC cycles to generate tokens. Something that makes them work for a bit to stop spammers like you say @steevc

I like the zero balance account idea. If someone wants to build up an account they can choose to do so

We are both agreed on that point @squatee!

Hey yoooo mr. @mindhunter amazing post today.
You are greates writer. I like your dtyle

:D

Helpme sir.
I have a post that good photography. Waiting for comiin

Hey Mindhunter,

My understanding is the reason they can't just create accounts with 0 Steem is technical. I think I read a few weeks ago that in order to interact with the blockchain (post, reply, upvote, send), you need a minimum amount of Steem. That's why they currently delegate each new account 4.5 SP, if I understand it correctly.

I can't produce any citations for this.

PS - Posting as I am from the future, you were right to call this a debacle. The price charts are looking grim today.

Code reduce the 4.5 SP to 0.01 SP - 100 x new accounts for 1 SP :)

Yeah, that makes sense in a mathematical way, but I don't know if it's feasible or not. They may have tried to code a lower limit in to prevent tampering with the block-chain or something.

I'm not much of a programmer.