You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Change the Reputation algorithm or else get rid of it - It is ridiculous as it is

in #steemit6 years ago

I think it should take votes from multiple high ranking people to get it up or down to reduce abuse.

That is what it should take. But as it is, one whale consistently at at 100% upvoting you, can take you all the way up. @hajein is a classic example.

I am not sure of the metrics, and have only posited the 70 as likely, and i bet you it must be.....post ten times a day, have many bidbots upvote you, and you will. I saw an account climb from 25 to 58 in 48 hours!

You are an exception, i surmise. And your growth is based on the general public upvoting...It is how it should be. If it takes you that long, and i am sure with as much effort, your reputation reflects your true worth. And you can be proud of it.

That is how it should be. Except, it is currently a requirement one can so easily game. And so those who don't deserve it, acquire it. And come forth as the image of what steemit is!

Sort:  

It's just a number and doesn't show the full picture. It's not easy to buy a high rep, so it's still a useful indicator to me. Other services based on steem can calculate their own scores

I personally find it a very useful and necessary indicator, but its should reconstructed to reflect and indicate what it is meant to indicate!

I have just been reading through, and i found this account trending @mattmonarch. 27 days, REPutation 60. And all because of bots....https://steemit.com/ormus/@mattmonarch/new-ormus-pure-white-monatomic-powdered-gold

I have been here two months, and still in 53 (made it today), despite posting what i trust is quality stuff, and almost everyday!!! My crime? I have never used a bot.

No question, should i use a bot, i can shoot it to 65+ by tomorrow and 70 in a week or less.

The REp score should stay, but it should be fixed

We have this choice. It just feels wrong to me to buy votes. I could get a higher rep that way, but I'm not that desperate. Others can see what you do and judge you on it. I see some trending posts get flagged for buying big votes

Very true, the other tweak would absolute be to make sure bots remain to affect everything except reputation.