Sort:  

I agree, it is kind of a flaw, especially learning how steemit works, doing searches and following older guidance, before things must have changed, which led to a lot of mistakes for me. Like when I first got hit by @adm, I decided to start the power down process, only to find posts saying it takes 2 years... Man, did that add to the emotions... Then I found it in the FAQs to now be 13 weeks. Thanks for your input, @miss-j

Yeah, that's what ive been finding difficult too, searching for the different tips and tools and post discussions, the information changes.

As for deletion.. what if someone posts here for a few years, then say, wants a job or something and they no longer want their posts and comments up for the public to see?

This will be a gigantic hindrance for mass adoption. Same with crypto.. I don't like that the coins that track everything you do. There should always be a way for privacy going fowards. We at least have privacy coins somewhat, but if there ever is a competitor that allows deletion and takes away opinion flagging, steemit will lose a large following.

And you said it exactly right, it sounds like social engineering, like aldous huxley talked about. A group think mentality, and the financial rewards to go with it, or to punish those who dont. Its a psychological brainwashing.

2297928_orig.jpg

I totally agree. It poses maybe even more problems than the "Warlord downvote mentality", because that effects everyone in one way or another.

Either it is bad, or people may stop caring. If I was your potential employer, if I was objective enough, I might ask you if you are still the same person as you were when you said this one thing or did that one thing years ago on Facebook or even Steemit for example.

Do you really want to go back and delete things later on? For me, I do not even have time to do that. And Steemit may create a new flaw, a new hole, by allowing things to be removed later on. And nothing on Facebook is ever removed. Nothing on the Internet is ever destroyed as there are things online that steal and store data of what happens online. There are websites that archive deleted YouTube videos for example. There are all sorts of things going on that most people are ignorant of.