You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SUCCESS ON STEEMIT REQUIRES SERVING TWO MASTERS

in #steemit6 years ago

I would say that for me the hardest part is realizing it's going to take time. I've had the benefit of dedicating quite a bit of time since I first started posting in the beginning of February. And growth has been slow. It's disappointing to make .75 cents on a post that took hours to write. My situation is not unique, I suppose. Most come here because they need an income. I had to retire due to illness and find myself in a financial predicament... no income. So was hoping to be able to generate some income. I doubt that will happen for another 4-6 months at the earliest. So actually, whether I like it or not I have to find some way to create an income other than Steemit. My plan is to work Steemit 4 hrs a day. But that slows things down even more. Well, don't mean to bum you out. But one must have patience here. There are some tech whizards who grow really fast, but I'm not one of them. good luck to you.

Sort:  

I do see a good introduceyourself post as a poisoned gift! Once really gets motivated by writing a great introduction post, which will be rewarded. But then the dark days start! You keep on writing excellent posts but they do get unnoticed! Which does descreases the motivation, this is when the most people do give up! My longest streak of posting without be able to cash even a miserable 1 cents, was 11 posts. 11 posts! Still I did keep going on. Finding out that we need to create circle of friends. Not follow-you-follow-me groups. But people who will voluntarily decided to follow you. Is doesn't matter how many followers we have, only the ones which do interact with us count!
Glad that I could add you to my circle of friends! It is hard to find Steemians which are worth a follow!

Thank you both @mistermercury and @fullcoverbetting for your replies and candour. I think the realisation that anything takes extra time to set up is difficult, since the energy of excitement is fleeting!

I took some time lurking before I joined and now I'm a bit inconsistent with postings. I don't think I have the creative energy to manage once a day yet, but I'm looking for it 😆

I appreciate your time and comments 😊

@thetalkingduck, one someone gives us a platform to be interactive which each other why not use it?

The steem blockchain needs 2 types of users. The one which are creating the content and the others who interact!

Howdy @thetalkingduck Welcome to Steemit!
I have a jabi for you...
(jabi = Just Another Bright Idea = pronounce jab eye)

  • On those days you aren't "feeling the creative," perhaps one of the alternative Steemit interfaces would work for you. I recently ran across Parley.io and plan on using it once or twice a week. It calls itself a Reddit competitor. Basically you post a link to any web page in the hopes of discussing the ideas with others.
    • So you post a link = a post for you.
      Then make a comment to that post to start the discussion.

Ooo! Thank you very much!
I'm in the process of learning alternatives to steemit itself, checking out both your post and Parley now!
Thanks again 😊