#Steemfest2: Day 2 I’m getting to know Lisbon

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

The second day of #steemfest2 and I'm travelling in from my beach side hotel wearing one of the new steemit branded t-shirts

the new steemit branded t-shirts.jpg

I'm in an Uber and my driver Luis is telling me about Lisbon. As we approach the 25 of Abril suspension bridge which looks remarkably like a copy of the golden gate bridge in San Francisco.

Luis tells me that it is no coincidence?

"The guy who designed both bridges was Rene Eiffel. You know the guy that built the Eiffel tower in Paris!"

Suitably impressed I said "Wow "

25 abril bridge.jpg

25 abril bridge low angle.jpg

This in fact turned out to be not true at all, as a quick bit of research revealed.

Sorry Luis

Shame. It was a good yarn lol

By driving in every day I'm getting to see a lot of the city. This is Cristo Rei (Christ the Redeemer) it reminded me of the statue overlooking Rio de Janeiro in Brazil.
christ rea.jpg

This is the Discoveries Monument, a huge stone monument to Portugal’s epic explorers.

discovery monument in lisbon.jpg

Great news. Today we had a talk from the steemit development team in regards to the stability of the website and the measures that they have now put in place to counter any future Ddos (denial of service) attacks.

steemit developers.jpg

We all know how frustrating it has been, not being able to post. I spoke to a couple of the guys afterwards and they assured me that they are ready. Locked and loaded for any new attack.

I said I wouldn't mention it. Not wishing to tempt those hacker's but hey! Open and transparent is what we do.

There is so much going on here. You turn a corner and see this amazing sight. @acromott giving a full-on yoga lesson right there.

@acromott doing yoga (2).jpg

@ashleypeak and @tomasgeorge kindly suggested that I should give it a go but I gracefully declined. I didn't want @acromott to put his back out trying to lift me.

@acromott doing yoga (1).jpg

Matt's @starkerz talk on how the steemit #promo teams are raising awareness of steemit around the world and in the UK, was well attended and received.

matt.jpg

Matt also talked about responsible voting on the platform.

@jerrybanfield and I listening to a fascinating talk by the eminent journalist. Terry Brock @terrybrock on good content and how to make it work for you.

jerry banfield and molometer.jpg

Yet another big thank you to Roland @roelandp He has been so helpful to so many people including me and at the same time organising this incredible event. From the keynote speakers to food to drinks and even transport to the snooker hall. Well done Roland. You're a star.

rolandp.jpg

I'm back at my hotel now on the beach for an early night. Tomorrow the line-up looks like it is going to be amazing again. Lisbon is a beautiful city.

moon over lisbon.jpg

Have a great evening everyone and steem on.

Sort:  

wonderful to see you @molomoter, very amazing pictures during your visiting different places in lisbon 2nd day of steem fest, you are looking so excited and happy,best wishes for you and keep enjoying.

Thanks @rabeel it has been amazing and in such a beautiful city too. More exciting events coming up tomorrow.

I would have loved to be there for all of that! Especially the acroyoga session (shame you didn't join in, it could have been very freeing :P) and starkerz talk (I learnt so much from him after meeting him last time and from their steemit talk video posted 2 days ago)! Really hope his message was heard, because how much better would Steemit be, if only users were more responsible with their power!

Thanks Mike! Looking forward to your next updates :)

Great update! You sure are smiling a lot! That must be a good sign!

I LOVE that you are there hanging out with my favorite super heroes!! Have a fantastic time, my friend...and glad you corrected the Eiffel/bridge story! And I hope you get down into the historic part of Lisbon to see the Santa Justa lift that Eiffel did design! It is worth seeing!

I was very pleased to hear your voice in the live streem. Super glad you got to go. Are you coming out of retirement yet ? ... they started talking about testing and my fingers started to itch. I don't know yet if it was a panic attack / aversion reaction or if they are antsy to go break something. I was great at breaking stuff.

Can't wait to hear some in-depth reflective thoughts from you when you return home ... via your blog of course.

What an amazing place!