You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Best Ways To Vote For Witnesses! (While the Steemit.com Witness Page is Broken).

in #steemit6 years ago

interesting as usual, I have a rough idea about what witness is, but what is hard fork? I went thorough it fast but did not understand really the meaning of this term

Sort:  

'Fork' is the name given to the situation when software is split into multiple concurrent versions that co-exist. So you might have two versions of the same software that are managed by different teams that now compete. When Steem forks, there is a need for witnesses to choose which version to adopt and whichever one is chosen predominantly by the top 17 witnesses will become the version that everyone else needs to use if they want to carry on witnessing.

OMG, I'm sorry that I asked, you have killed my dream of becoming a witness assistant even...Just kidding, thank you so much for the clarification, now i have an idea about witnesses and fork thing.