Are people joining steem for the wrong reasons??

in #steemit6 years ago

Now, I am nearly 100% sure that this post is going to draw positive and negative comments. I mean, why else do people want to join steem other than to either
1.beg

  1. Put up useless content that has been thrown together in the hopes of getting upvoted
  2. Post something half relative then use upvote bots to get it noticed.
    Or finally 4. Actually post content that has had some time and effort put into it and is about something worth talking about.

Now, I joined steemit because I saw an opportunity to connect with like-minded people and after hearing and researching about steem I believe that this is the way forward with more and more people looking to try and break space in the content 'market'.

Not everyone is cut out to create content for others to watch or read, but I don't see why anyone shouldn't give it a go. With YouTube now punishing small content creators instead of helping them grow dtube is going to thrive in my opinion.

For those of you reading this and asking, mrodoc what makes you think after being on steemit for a few days at most you can talk about something like this.

And well, after watching the top posts in multiple tags over the past few days all I've seen is the same people/posts and in the comments it is stupidly obvious that upvote bots are being used.

Now like I said earlier YouTube is punishing small content creators. Is steemit going to do this by allowing the upvote bots to take control of who is at the top and who isn't?

I personally thought content creating was about gathering a following of people who enjoy watching / reading what you have to say.
Not paying a whale to upvote your post massively basically forcing your content on people??

I for one will never use an upvote bot as I believe this is an unenthical way to get your content out there.

If your content is that good you should allow people to find it and then follow you. Not force it to the top by paying someone.

Yes I understand this is how advertising works but me personally thinks this is wrong. And without the upvote bots these people wouldn't be where they are potentially now.

IMG_20180121_114205.png

Ps. Next bit of content I post will be either (my online earners) or (fatherhood-the first 4 weeks)

If you have a preference let me know in the comments!

Sort:  

I will cite this post

As everyone uses bots, not using them is a handicap, and before anyone says it isn't, this is only the case when you already reached "critical mass" of followers or when you have big friends that have you on auto-vote.

For everyone else, you just can't compete without them if you're a small fry.

Steemit is already like this. It's free, uncensored and the bots will not disappear because the way the blockchain works won't change.

Your effort is noble. I share your opinion. Many of the people who use bots share it. However, this is not a new topic of discussion. Whether you play the game or you don't. It's your choice.

@cryptosharon thanks for the reply! After spending a few more days and after reading your post it seems the only way to stand a chance of getting noticed is to use these bots,
I understand it's free and people are able to do as they please but it still makes you wonder what steemit would be like if there was no such thing as these bots

Yeah, I wonder what Steemit would be like if people lost the ability to pay for votes, to put their money into Steemit and have their votes be worth more. I guess this is the price we have to pay for making this community about money.

Congratulations @mrodoc! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @mrodoc! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!