You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dear minnows: A breakdown of pay for vote bots and if you're not using @bellyrub, YOU'RE DOING IT WRONG!!!

in #steemit7 years ago

hey dexter, the problem about those bots is that they give you money but not appreciation. You like my stuff sometimes and when salmons or dolphins do that, I feel appreciated and proud.
If I pay someone to like my posts, it can make sense economically but apart from that it is bullsh...

I totally agree with what you say, just wanna tell you my personal opinion on that. I will try that bellyrub thing for once though, sounds fun :-D.

Anyways, informative and interesting post so you get my upvoted :-) Cheers my friend!

Sort:  

... Of course bots don't give appreciation, they are not meant for that. : ) Steemit's ecosystem allows for more advances... we are looking at a whole new platform where mostly everything can be done.

@bellyrub is also part of that ecosystem its needed just as much as human interaction is needed.

PS: bellyrub can have a conversation with you.

right @bellyrub?

Talk with me. What is your deepest secret?

I made you out of bolts!

wakes up in pain why did you kick me??

What do you want?

Well, I think we are having one right now...

I agree with you @mrwanderlust, and I'm glad you let me know how you feel about it :) I think the point of pay bots is that you are not paying them to like your post, you are paying them to upvote it. I did a post the other day that had five comments within the first four minutes telling me they liked the post, but not one of them up voted it. I feel that (rightfully or not) there is at least a slight separation between truly liking a post and upvoting it. It's a fine balance to tread when we are in an ecosystem that gives more than superficial rewards for your work, and we are all figuring it out as we go. There have been voting bots on Steemit since it first started, they were geared towards automated content curation which helped rich whales enrich themselves further, but minnows had no control over them. Now at least there are bots that can be mutually beneficial. Thanks for the upvote man! I'll be back to my photography posts now, I just like to do one of these types every once in a while ;)

thanks @dexter-k, that reply helped a lot. I get your intentions now. Oh and those "I like your post" comments are really annoying, I get them too from time to time