You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit/dTube EXCLUSIVE: Witness @aggroed talks SBD, reward pool drama, much more

in #steemit6 years ago

Hi Aggroed. Although I am pretty much in agreement with many of your thoughts, there's one thing.

When you say that you think that the SP delay of 13 weeks could deter short term investors... Imho, I think actually that it is a great system, very healthy and it does not compromise freedom of choice even for short term investors.

1/ Choice of commitment at the start: if short term investor want to go into Steem, well they can, by buying it as a coin and keeping it as liquid Steem. They can opt out of the game in the blink of an eye. So they do have the choice.

2/ Security: Even if my account got hacked, the SP is blocked, and if I notice something is powered down non-naturally, I can react.

3/ Stability: If bad news for Steem come in, there cannot be a panic sale of the coin that could make it really dip deep (even if the project is top-notch, you know like me that perception counts for a lot). Instead, heads can cool down by having time to evaluate if this is really a cause for close down. So if Steem goes down for whatever reason, it will not be because of a panic. The project protects itself from that with the SteemPower delay.

Actually, this SteemPower system strengthens my confidence in Steem.