Steemit wallet exposed and Data protection.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

pexels-photo.jpg
(CC0) lic.

Did you know that you can view the wallets of steemit users.
I don’t know if this is a good thing or not but it kind of makes me feel “exposed”. I found this by accident. I was looking at the trending post page and clicked on a story. What I thought was my “wallet” below the taskbar turned out to be the person who’s blog I was reading. Thinking this was a one-off I opened another steemit user and again the wallet was there to be opened. I have to add that now Keys were viewable.

Now to me it’s a bit like watching your favourite YouTube channel and having access to the backend and seeing what they are earning. Or even having your bank account on show. Is this an oversight on steemit’s part or is it part of the platform. Either way, I think the wallet should be Private.

What are your thoughts. Comment down below.


Sort:  

A Frog's Croak

It is an therapeutic act of frankness to show what you have and how you are engaged in the Platform. Is somebody interested to be a shareholder or does the guy sell out the earnings. It shows a lot. We are transparent on one hand. That's okay.

  • To sell out means
    ° the owner needs money. That's okay. Result is low SteemPower (SP) and low earnings for curating, at least. Sorry.
    ° the owner is not interested in mining STEEM. It's okay, too.
  • To power up means
    ° a guy wants to become shareholder. This is appreciated. Our CEO is Ned Scott. Founder, big Whale and owner of Steemit Inc. Keeper of the Blockchain named Steem.
    ° You want to mine STEEM: Welcome to the community. Write, read, listen, view pics and clips. Follow, vote, comment. Be a coach, a curator and check out the others to

become a real Blogger,
mine STEEM
and make friends.

Happy steemin' @mw72

I just joined less than 24 hours ago, and I found this out right away. I think they should be private. I am following you, please follow back.

Thanks for pointing this out, just found this.