You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Minnows! Lets Change the Reward Pool!

in #steemit7 years ago

I am still new to Steemit, but I have been working on posting original works and feel like I am not getting anywhere. I am starting to look at some of the whales and those who are trending to find out how they got there. Mostly they have a lot of followers and a lot of Steem Power. I like this idea and I will work to vote more for the minnows. Thanks for this post.

Sort:  

I find that I make the least from curating (voting on posts), although some people claim to do quite well from doing it. I guess I'm just not skilled enough to be a good curator, so instead of curating with the intention of earning curation rewards, I simply vote to show I appreciate their comments.

The next higher earnings come from my posts. Although I have well over 200 followers, I still make mostly around 5 to 30 cents per article. Nothing worth getting excited about, especially after spending hours on some of them.

Where I seem to make the most earnings from is by commenting on posts that I am passionate about. By being passionate about the topic, it seems that passion is somehow conveyed to the reader and they up-vote my comments if they appreciate what I wrote.

Although I personally have not won at contests (I don't enter many), there are quite a number of contests you could enter and increase your earnings that way.

Keep at it @n4t3w and in approximately a year you may be surprised at what you were able to accumulate during that time. If you wish to earn faster, you need to invest your own money because around here it seems the more you have, the more you earn. I haven't quite figured out why it works that way, but that is how it seems to me. I used to think that the more Steem Power one had, the greater the amount of rewards one got regardless of the SP of the voter, but that was not correct. It is probably because the people with more SP have been around long enough to make friends with others who have a lot of SP and they support each other. That is why minnows need to flock together and make the numbers of small votes count as if it were 1 big vote!

I wonder if part of the reason the big posts get so many minnows to vote for them is so that they can get curation rewards. Minnows see that those posts are doing well and hope to get something by voting for it. To be honest I have done it, in part to learn how everything works.

I will keep at it. Thanks for your support and ideas. I will keep working at it.

Yes, absolutely. I'm quite confident that is the reason. I did it as well. However, if you vote too early, your curation award goes to the author. If you vote too late, you get very little or nothing. I find that most of the time these articles attracting a lot of votes already have a lot of votes on it before the half-hour penalty time is up, so trying to find that sweet spot where your vote actually earns anything significant is a rather daunting task. Too much trouble for me. When I look at my curation rewards they are mostly around the 1-3 thousandths of a cent! I prefer to look at the other side of it and know that when I vote on someone, I am gifting them 2 cents! As the value of Steem rises and my SP goes up, that gift will also go up.

That is why minnows need to flock together and make the numbers of small votes count as if it were 1 big vote!
Right!

You are so correct - I have heard numerous times by fellow Steemians how my passion and energy show through the computer screen! I've been told they feel it!

I love that <3