First impressions

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I'm 3 days on steemit now. Too short for any deep analysis, but I think it is right time for first impressions.
I like valuable content. I leave facebook and others social networks because they are full of crap and they are censored. Two things I hate. I believed that steem can be different and I still believe after 3 days here. And i believe that find solution for these two things is most important problem for any social platform on the internet.
As I see it now, censorsip is not big problem on steemit right now. It will be but at this time is it ok as it is. And I want to focus only on one thing in this post. So I will write about content.
I like something like democracy and I strongly believe, that everybody have right to say his opinion on anything. But I dont believe that everybody's opinion has same value. Steemit try to solve this problem as I understand with concept of Steam Power. It looks to me as ineresting and right concept but I see some problems.

I don't know much about bank system or about astronomy or about paintings. But when I see painting which seems beautifull to me I'd want to have right to say it. That's democracy. But I believe that there are many people who understand this topic better than I and that what I say on this topic is not as valuable as opinion of somebody who is educated in arts, or somebody who paints, or somebody who shows in many oportunities that he understand this subject.
Other problem is that people are lazy. I'm too. So they appreciate things which are funny or nice, like kittens photos, or when somebody is farting in the room full of people or something like that. But how many people will read great but little bit boring analysis about 19th century literature in some little country? And how much money can author of this post get on steemit? The answer is ZERO and it will be worse when kittens and puppies comes with full strength.

So I have one proposal which I believe can help to give value to really valuable content. And which also give value to funny mainstream content. It's just idea for discussion at this moment. I was inspired by how it works in"real world"
Every state government has many departments. And they have part of overall budget. So there is foreign department, arts department, agriculture department ... and everyone has his own budget. The create, protect their area of expertise. For many people is for example something like art only wasting money.
I believe thate we can find in discussion departments (categories) like this on steemit and create mechanism that great philosopher, artist, writer, photograph, businessman or somebody who create funny videos will have oportunity to make some money on steemit and reason to invest his work to doing it.

How to do it? Just add some basic rule to protect content which is no so popular and mainstream and let people do what they want.

  • find and define categories which we can support on steemit. Entertainment, Science, Arts, Future of steemit, Business, Philosophy, Alternative opinions, Internet....
  • Add to every category fixed part of overall budget. Not forever, maybe for year, and later review it. Maybe something like Entertainment - 25 %, Business 20 % Science 15%, Arts 15%, Future of steemit 10%...
  • Allow people to choose 3 main categories in which they can use 90 % of Steam Power. In other categories they will have only minimal Power. They can vote, but theirs voice will have only some basic value. If they will grow in theirs categories, they could choose at some level 4 th, 5 th category and so on.

That's all. I believe that some hard problems could have some very simple solution. Sid Meier author of amazing game Civilization said somewhere that he was invited to speak on some big economic event and in discussion they admired: How you did so perfect balance in economics in game? And he said "its just slider". Who played game know what I'm talking about.

This post is really diferent from what I want to write about at the beginnig but .. :D

Sort:  

"But I dont believe that everybody's opinion has same value. Steemit try to solve this problem as I understand with concept of Steam Power"

Actually that's not very correct. The opinion value is your personal ranking (47 now) not Steem Power. SP you can buy with cash, personal ranking you don't.

157 voters. Great!!! Comments = 0 :(

"But how many people will read great but little bit boring analysis about 19th century literature in some little country? And how much money can author of this post get on steemit? The answer is ZERO and it will be worse when kittens and puppies comes with full strength."

This isn't correct also. This post demonstrate that. You've earned much more with this prolix post than many together of mine microposts :-) Anyway you've pointed out a great Steemit issue, the creation of groups and channels as before of you someone did as in this great post https://steemit.com/steemit/@cryptoctopus/steemit-can-t-grow-right-now-here-s-why#@oneshot/re-cryptoctopus-steemit-can-t-grow-right-now-here-s-why-20170402t082236643z

Really great comments. Thank you for your work. I will read linked post and correct mistakes. I know that in my post are mistakes and maybe i could wait some time with this type of post, but this is really subject which is important for me.

I read post you suggested and it is great. But for me - channels and communities are only part of solution. I think that community of 2000 people can be as valuable as community of 20000 people. For example community which will be discussing scientific problems, but as I understand current system on steemit they will not have chance to earn some reasonable money on steemit for their work. No, when here comes Coca Cola and Jay Z and other celebrieties. What I was suggesting is protect some communities about which we think that are valuable for society, give them fixed share of Steem value and let them to divide this share only inside community. Sorry, my English is really terrible :

"Sorry, my English is really terrible "

Here me also! :-)