The Trending List - Conclusion

in #steemit6 years ago

I read a book by Buckminster Fuller once. Aside from being a total head trip, one statement really stuck with me. It was that any prediction requires 4 observations. The first one makes you go "oh, that was interesting!" The second observation makes you say "there it is again! I wonder if it will happen a 3rd time?" And then the third time confirms that it is a pattern, and you can formulate a hypothesis. The fourth observation will the confirm or deny your hypothesis.

In the case of the "organic" posts on the trending list, we had already had observation #1 done because we've all seen the mess that is the trending list. These last 3 posts are observations 2, 3, and 4.

So this is the last post in this series because my hypothesis has been confirmed.

Let's go to the data.

Here are the voters who appeared multiple times on the top 10 "organic" results:

And there are the top votes from the same list ranked by STU rewards:

And today I did a little something different.

Here are the same two tables, but for all 3 days that were tracked cumulatively:

The list continued, but that's all I could get on one screen. And I'm not too interested in those voters who appeared only twice.

So my hypothesis that the top 10 "organic" posts on the trending list are anything but is confirmed. Instead of using bots, they use voting rings. It's the same thing by another mechanism.

And I'll say it again, this will continue as long as the STEEM Power is controlled by the top 6000 accounts. That's 0.6% of the accounts on the blockchain. If the minnows don't step up and decide to put their money where their mouth is, things will just continue this way.

Sort: