Steemit Upgrades: What's Next? What's Needed?

in #steemit6 years ago

Steemit is both an amazing and incredibly complex machine that needs to work on ease of use for the future generations of Steemit that are flooding to this platform on a daily basis.

So, Steemit has been around a while now and while it is a great place to come and enjoy the community I find that it lacks a lot of features that I would have expected if not on release, by now. I am still a new Steemian and I absolutely love this platform, I love sharing my thoughts and feelings about different topics and reading quality content produced by others.

I am not 100% sure of what is coming next to the platform however I thought I would share some of my own thoughts of what I would like to be added to Steemit. Feel free to add your own to the comments section as well.

What functionality would I like to see built into Steemit?

  • The ability to search for a user without having to use the address bar. I would like this to be intuitive like when transferring SBD.
  • The ability to see how much your vote is worth based on your Steem Power. A scale should be included so you can see what your vote would be worth as your power increases.
  • Markdown can be confusing and so can HTML. I feel this may turn away quite a few new users from the platform, lest we look at relatively poor formatting. (I am not the best at this so maybe I shouldn't comment on it!)
  • A proper Android and iPhone app. Not eSteem which takes 10% of profits.
  • A history to see who has tagged you in a post, liked your posts, followed you and stopped following you.

I know that all of this information can be seen using other websites however we need to ensure that the future generation of Steem are not overwhelmed by the complexity of what Steemit it. Each new user almost needs a mentor to guide them through how to format a post, what voting power and curation is.

I have been fortunate enough to have quite a few people around lending a helping hand when it comes to all things Steemit. If you are reading this and are new, look for some helpful posts by @phelimint, @mattclarke and @holoz0r. They have put up some great guides which will help out newbies.

What do you want from Steemit?


Let me know below in the comments what you would like Steemit to add next? Do you want ease of use or a whole revamp? Hopefully @ned or @dan will work towards implementing some of our ideas in the near future.

Image 1
Image2

Sort:  

I 100% agree!
It's so confusing when you first start out and the fact that there's all these different websites to check different things when in should just be included in steemit already.

Also dying for an app as I mainly access steemit through my phone!

I personally don't relate to the use of HTML/markdown as I used it a lot during MySpace days. I think it can be quite intuitive if you read through the markdown articles, but can see how it could be a deterrent seeing as there's so many bloody other things to learn! Hahaha

This is a great post and you raise many valid posts! Fingers crossed for a decent upgrade - even with just one or two of these points - it would make a drastic difference!

Cheers!

Thanks for reading. You are very right in regards to markdown, the guide is pretty darn great. I know it has helped me out a fair bit. Although, it was only last week that I worked out I could do things like

outside of HTML mode, so much quicker and easier to post not.

If you ever need a hand or have any questions, don't hesitate to reach out :) I will do my best to answer any questions but please keep in mind I am by no means an expert :P

If you use discord you can look for me @necromortis.

That's true, if you don't know it's there it could be a disadvantage.

Thanks so much I appreciate it the offer and will most likely take you up on it ! :)

i want more transparency and accesabillity to the blockchain... or is there any tool easy to use???

The more user-friendly you make something, the more the waters are diluted. I don't think turning Steemit into another Facebook is really what the place needs. We already have too many grasping beggars and people posting memes for quick upvotes - I see this as the place where you can post more meaningful things than what you had for dinner.

The easier it is, the more people there are, the less meaningful content we have, and the more Steem/SBD/SP goes off to memes, and less to people that try to engage their followers.

Markdown and HTML is really only difficult if you don't know it, and it's easy to learn, but I use MarkdownPad for all my editing. It's free and easy to use.

I agree with some of what you have to say. Coming to Steemit to post a quick meme and try and make a buck isn’t what I want to see either. However, in this day and age Steemit needs to adapt to the world around its and embrace change as it comes.

People don’t want to sit in front of their computer and spend a large chunk of time writing out a post and making sure they are coding it right to make sure they aren’t missing out on an upvote for an off centered image.

Introduce more ease of use for people to come and once they are here, let the community do the rest.

Some great points for sure man, I would like to see Voting power and worth integrated on the platform, it's there if you use busy.org it has some nice features. Mentions are also really lacking but I use Ginabot for that, you need to check her out and sign up, it's so great.

Ginabot hey? Will do! Do you use busy.org for most of your Steemit use?

Not currently but I did for about a month, when steemit.com was buggy for a while. I do check it occasional cuz I really like how it shows your in coming votes with weights, so it's super quick to check

Yeah that is definitely a good feature. Hopefully it is introduced here as well.