The Shift From Mainstream Social Media to SteemIt is Real and It’s Here And I’m So Thankful!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

32881AF1-BB59-414A-8773-C3C80770A606.png

SteemIt made the shift from other social media platforms to this one a breeze. I see more people making the move and it’s exciting! Here’s my journey, I’m sure you all have different but similar ones.

Just had an aha moment tonight and wanted to share 😊

Facebook
Back in the Summer I stopped using Facebook, I kept messenger to communicate with certain people but never actually use the Facebook platform anymore. It was f’n dreadful on there and I’m pretty sure I got PTSD from some of the horrible things people post.

Twitter
After FB I decided to use Twitter; I had signed up a while back but never actually used it. I started to try to use it back in the Summer to follow some musicians (Nahko, Mike Love, Trevor Hall) I really like and to make sure I didn’t miss them if they were in town.

Somehow, I got swept away in a myriad of social issues primarily issues for Indigenous people. Mind you there are some real problems we have going on that need attention but that’s all I’ve actually used it for it seems.

Instagram
I never post on there hardly haha! Like one or two posts a year it seems haha! But, I engage maybe a couple times a week.

In general my engagement with social media has waned dramatically! I feel like I’m not the only one. The demand of social media is too great, the exposure to crap you NEVER wanted to see feels out of your control.

THEN CAME...

Image Source: https://medium.com/@petkanics/things-to-like-about-steem-as-a-blockchain-project-3b670a135de2

SteemIt (Insert Cheers)
Thank the heavens for this outlet! It has not only made my shift from the mainstream platforms easy, I genuinely enjoy reading the content! I always seem to learn something new, meet some crazy talented people, and even get a dose of a funny meme along the way sometimes for old times sake haha!

Admittedly, at first, I was worried that I didn’t have enough reputation score, upvote Power, account value, etc.. But now, I’m going with the flow! I’m just enjoying a stable platform with good people, good content, and the best bonus ever of the ability to earn Steem.

I wandered over to Twitter earlier tonight and saw a post from Koi Fresco (his teachings are incredible, if you like Ram Daas, Duncan Trussel, Jack Kornfield, and the likes you’ll love Koi) anyways, he’s very popular in that realm and he was posting about getting censored on YouTube for a post about medicinal use of psychedelics. So, I told him about #DTube and #SteemIt, he liked the tweet so hopefully he’ll venture on over!

Then I ended up searching twitter for #SteemIt and had to laugh because there I was... on Twitter talking about SteemIt and looking up SteemIt lol! That’s like being at Taco Bell and looking up amazing Cuban Restaurants haha! Then, I just bailed and came back to SteemIt. In that moment I realized the paradigm had officially shifted!

What a great feeling, it’s like wanting a change and fighting for a change and then actually winning the battle and the change is real! It’s a big sigh of relief that’s for sure!

Thank you SteemIt! Thank you to all the programmers and moderators and all the people that I have no clue about yet that made this possible! You’re doing great work!

Peace, Love, and Light

Recommended content:
@jaredlang, @modernnomad, @intrepidthinker, @tommyinthesun, @robomode, @matt-a, @robrigo, @kotturinn, @fancynancy1

Sort:  

Hello, agree with you this platform much better then others. On another topic your playing some great poker.

Thank you @PotPlucker you are too! It’s been fun playing it! Hope to see you on more tables soon! 😊