You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Curation Rewards and Their Necessity

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

When I see good content I vote for it immediately! I do not care about how big reward I will get for voting for that.

I just want to support great author who just teach me something, made me laugh or maybe inspired me. The reward for me comes directly from good content. For example good tutorial can save me hours which I can spent working for my employer and earn hundreds of dollars.

Right now this post has 67 views, 310 votes and only 8 comments. Personally I as an author I would prefer to get much less votes, but actually see more comments with feedback, which could actually improve my skills.

Sort:  

Right now this post has 67 views, 310 votes and only 8 comments. Personally I as an author I would prefer to get much less votes, but actually see more comments with feedback, which could actually improve my skills.

At the time, the post was only about an hour old, so I'm not sure what the point of your comment was. However, I do agree that more engagement is preferable, especially if an author is seeking feedback. The problem is that we don't have a lot of people here. And the user base is also split between users who speak many different languages, so a language barrier plays a large role in engagement as well. When there aren't enough users reading posts - or if they can't read the posts - then it won't be easy to actually have them engage.

But the larger issue is just the complete lack of any meaningful, active user base. We need more people to use the site. It's that simple. If we had 10,000 actual human users who were active every day, we would see a lot more engagement on posts. It also wouldn't hurt to have better filters for finding posts, such as categories > sub-categories > tags (or sub-steems, as many have suggested)...and maybe a better way to actually search for content.

When I see good content I vote for it immediately! I do not care about how big reward I will get for voting for that.

You aren't alone. A lot of people do that. But there's also nothing wrong with voting for potential rewards. Both curating habits are valid and they both serve a purpose.