Be careful where you click! | Steem Phishing | Stolen SBD from users |

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


Be careful on what you find on Steemit. Not all links go to where they say.

Unfortunately I was a target and lost out of my SBD and I didn't even realize till it was too late.

On one of my recent posts a comment was made by @aideedavies stating that my post is similar to others and that @GrumpyCat could down vote. Scared of the almighty Grumpy cat I stupidly clicked the "defend yourself" link that was on the post.

This took me to a post about @GrumpyCat
at first I read through the post, nothing seemed out of whack but I noticed I was no longer logged in

Usually this would spark red flags but as I had just cleared all my data from my chrome browser and thought "Oh, maybe I just have to log in again" Big Mistake.

It wasnt till it was too late that I realised the site the post was hosted on was not the REAL STEEMIT

After talking to friends they have noticed recent posts from the same person.

I want everyone to be aware that not all is safe, even if it looks it


Although @aideedavies is the one posting the links (from which looks to be a genuine account) they are not the one receiving the direct funds. @good-kama (You can also see everyone else they have phished funds from)


Everyone out there new and old to the Steemit platform, be careful. There are bad people out there
Does SteemIt know this is happening?

Sort:  

That account posted on my dmania post today, it seemed spammy and i commented as such after checking out the profile. I didn't click any links and will flag the post.

Luckily! Im always told to keep an eye out for fake links but you dont really think twice till it happeneds

I called them out on my post, they are playing the victim and saying they were hacked. I asked about all the stolen sbd/steem. crickets so far.

Contact @dan and @ned, and all exchanges that trade steem/sbd. Let them know what is going on.

How would one do so? I have sent an email to support

Try sending them a small 0.001 Steem transfer through Steemit and write your message in the memo field, or try commenting on one of their recent posts and mention their username starting with the "@".

Contact @blocktrades ASAP regarding this. You can comment on one of their recent posts and explain what is going on.

Okay memo'd both blocktrades and Ned. Hoping I can get my 20sbd back but not holding my breath. Good learning experience Aha

Thanks ebargains <3

Hope you do get the funds back somehow. There are some proposals for anti phishing plugins for Steem, but none are usable for now.

Best to be vigilant (check the spelling of the URL and the HTTPS tag) and don't click on links that you do not recognize.

Oh yeah, also let @good-karma know that there is an imposter using an account name similar to his to scam people.

Many others have unfortunately fallen victim to it, you can see it in the scammers wallet. Then immediately transfer the SBD stolen from a few accounts, to @blocktrades so they can transfer and use it how they please. This should be noted and hopefully taken care of soon!

Sorry to see, mate.
One of the pitfalls of a permissionless place like this is that it limits what the developers can prevent.
Empowering good actors unavoidably empowers bad ones too.

I appreciate the post as we need to bring this to peoples attention. I was scammed 663.843 SBD and 22.641 tokens Friday. Thought I was on steemit and it moved me to steewit. I put up a post about it. if you have not read it I encourage you to do so. Will be doing others on scamming. My upvote was trashed from their hack and hope to have that back soon. Blessings - Troy

Holy shit dude thats so much! I lost 25 and Im annoyed. Can not imagine how you feel


Welcome to Steem @nossy.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

You got a 28.02% upvote and resteem from @ebargains courtesy of @nossy. Thank you for using the @ebargains UPVOTE and RESTEEM bot.

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 50% of the voting bot's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the bot's SP pool at the end of each round! You can also undelegate at anytime.

resteeemed. A good post.... hard luck there.

destroy all bots

This is super scary.

Suggestion.

Only log in with the posting key. Keep your active key and owner key offline. Never enter them online. Never!

You have different keys to make it safer.

I'm so so sorry this happened to you. I greatly appreciate you informing us. So that we may avoid the same theft.