Why I don't like big buts

in #steemit8 years ago

But ... But .... But ... People use the word far too much it seems.

"I'd do that BUT I don't really know what to do" - well then learn.

"I want to go there BUT I don't have a passport." - then get one!

Lots of the time I think we make up our excuses because we just don't want to go out of our comfort zones or think there is a barrier there. We can be a bit more positive in life. I know that if we all just focus a bit more on "what if I just tried" , our lives would be enriched.

Sort:  

your actually pissed off because people are lazy
the fact that people say BUT to explain something doesn't mean they are compromising, it means that there will be another factor in play.
you should chill

I'm not pissed off at all. I work in an environment where I hear it many times. Often it's fear of the unknown so excuses are created by using "but".

I'm saying that people make excuses and the word But may be in them. but what follows that will determine.
eg.
1.Yeah I want to come to the shops but I gotta put on my shoes. uses word but - not fearful

  1. Yeah I want to but I don't want to run into anyone i know. uses word but- is fearful of public area
    so when you hear some one say but and think they are avoiding something, listen on and judge them on the rest of what they say or else you just sound picky
    so why is it not positive to say but? it is a word, use words

My kids would say "but" all the time. I finally had it. I was done with their procrastination so I turned it around on them. When they said "but" I looked at them and said in very stern mommy voice "Did you just call me butt mom?"