Scammers started disinformation campaign on Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

 

For days, I have been working hard to protect Steemit users from scammers!

I guess many of you have already received one of my warnings about scams, phishing and virus threat spreading on Steemit.

It looks like my work is paying because as of today, they decided to start a disinformation campaign about me by spreading FUD with post published from accounts they hacked.

Look: 

 All this authors are well know hacked account that have sent hundreds of phishing attempts last days. 

 

This is good news!

As from now, I have revealed no less than 30 scam/phishing attempts. You can find a full list in my last scam reporting post

 To me, this FUD campaign is good news. This means that hackers feel threatened by my preventive actions and are forced to counter-attack to spread doubt among Steemit users. 

 

An exhausting fight

Fighting those scammers led me to send nearly 20,000 warnings just over the last 30 days, preventing me to communicate as usual with my followers.

I received dozens of requests for help from users who had their account hacked. I had to explain them how to recover their account.

I also had to manage hundreds of comments from people who were worrying about the safety of their account after clicking on phishing links. Unfortunately, because of lack of time and resources, I have not been able to reply to everyone. Please apologize! 

 

Thanks you for your support!

Finally, I have received an overwhelming support from the community for my work.

I can not say how many "thank you" comments I received. And unfortunately, for the same reasons mentioned above, I could not reply to each of them. 

 So, I take this opportunity to say a BIG THANK YOU TO ALL for your encouragement!
Honestly, that's what makes me want to continue this fight against malicious people.

Thanks to all of you who contacted me to report scams so I can update my warning bot.

And thank you to @steemcleaners for their cooperation with me, especially @guiltyparties with whom I have almost daily contacts to synchronize our actions. He is also a witness and deserve your vote! 

 Thanks for reading!
Source: 

https://steemit.com/steemit/@arcange/scammers-started-disinformation-campaign