The quality of content on Steemit is...really terrible

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

I received my authentication and password about 10 minutes ago, and the first thing I've realized in my short time poking around on the site is just how terrible the content is.

It's as if I took the absolute worst 100 people I follow in Facebook, gave them massive amounts of peyote, lobotomized them and told them I would pay them $10 to post 50 useless articles to their news feeds in under 24 hours. That's how miserable the content here is.

OK, an example - this guy: @teamsteem. He has written or resteemed thousands of posts about nothing - just random thoughts and regurgitations on crypto and Steemit facts and figures (d'ahhh, crypto is popular! d'ahhhh Steemit is going to surpass Reddit someday! d'ahhh I like this community a lot!). But he's generating hundreds of Steem with each post. I mean aside from his unbridled love for the community, I must ask: this is the sort of garbage that Steemians "like"?

So: just how is Steemit going to overtake any other content creation site? I've been here for 10 minutes and I have no desire to be here much longer, and I'm a staunch crypto believer and hodler in multiple currencies. I really want this to work, but I think most content creators would rather work within the terrible current system and try their hand at gaining a following and subsequently earning some dollars that way than by starting over in this cesspool.

I know my language is strong, but it has to be. Someone has to point this out. This is really bad content.

Please, enlighten me.

Sort:  

I think the same way like you, I´m not very happy about the contents, i´ve been waiting to see something better but don´t know

I guess I'll sit back and wait? I can't help but think this is a whole lot of...nothing. And again, I am a huge believer in crypto and useful blockchains. I do believe advertising, sponsored content and marketing practices will be dumped on their heads one day, but this hardly seems like the way it's going to happen.

Perhaps create some quality content first and give it a go.. nothing stopping you from posting your own content to any other site too and see which one pays you first?