You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 100 Percent Upvote For My Favorite Answer!!!!

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

bought my first BTC in 2015 because i loved the idea of a digital, decentralized currency. i was hella talkin' it up with my friends, but couldn't get anybody interested. I gave up on finding friends to take the leap with me and just went in solo. back then, there wasn't a lot of reliable news sources and i didn't understand blockchain or crytpto very well and i kept hearing about this fork. this damn hard fork was looming and the bitcoin community was at odds about it. i didn't understand what this fork was and i didn't want to lose my money. i thought it might be better to take my money out before i lost it all. that right there, was my biggest regret. not keeping that original BTC and just riding it out. damn! even though I regret getting rid of it, I cherish the lesson that I learned. #HODL

fast forward to December 2016 when i saw Dan Tapscott's TED talk about Ethereum and i got fired up. i was so done with centralized, corporate data centers. so pissed about the breaches and the fact that artists and creators were getting jacked on royalties. i had to get back in to the space, but this time, i went in hard. not just BTC, but instead i immersed myself in learning all about blockchain and other crytpo. it was a lot easier to do by this time too. way more news, way more people in the space.

... and then I found #STEEM :)