Sort:  

Hi @onetree. I go Steemit-> Bittrex-> buy etherium- Send etherium to Luno wllet-> withdraw to my bank account. Not sure if that's any different from what you're doing? Moving ETH around is much faster and way cheaper than moving BTC. Luno supports both.

Hi Lizelle, thanks for the heads-up , I'm going to do some research. Can you withdraw from Luno to a SA bank account?

You're welcome. Yes , I withdraw straight to my Capitec account. Transfer fee is R8.50 on a transaction and it takes a day.

Sorry for butting in on your post @karenb54. I hope you get all your funds back without problems. They really should have given warning. How frustrating!

Thank you :)

Steem doesn't have the relatively widespread support that Bitcoin has earned, so for now it is the only option for most people to interact with the wider economy.

So lets make it happen :)

We need a better option like eBay for crypto. Steembay posts here are a stopgap at best.

Is Coinbase not available where you are in South Africa? I was able to exchange SBD to my Etherium wallet on Coinbase, then sell it on Gdax. Gdax is the Coinbase exchange, and you can sell Bitcoin, Etherium, or Litecoin.
That gives better options for your timeline and exchange rates. There's actually no rate for selling on Gdax with an open order. :)

I will check it out, thank you!

They should have warned us, there was nothing.

I will check it out, thank you!