You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Meet Steem's #1 Author!

in #steemit7 years ago

Arguably the example you mentioned is worse, yes. I hate those posts too. It's not like I am pro-other posts that suck. It just shows that nobody cares about the content, and proves that people will upvote based on financial incentive mostly. As such, participating in this while knowing full well that this is the case, is by itself a form of abuse. If I know fully well that I will make $50 no matter what I post, and I then decide to post something shitty because who cares right, and then it turns out to indeed work that way, then that's a problem that will hurt the steemit ecosystem. It's something that should be discouraged.

Sort:  

I am in complete agreement. But let me play a bit of Devil's Advocate, as I am apparently compelled to often do:

"It's something that should be discouraged."

If we want to be the new Facebook (and I'm not sure we all do, but I think all the INVESTORS definitely do, and that's most of the big users too), then this may be opposite thinking.

Facebook is absolutely loaded down with narcissistic, garbage content with no value to anyone except puffing up the ego of whoever posted it by garnering likes. This is apparently what it takes to be one of the largest businesses ever.

Can we say for sure that promoting garbage and appealing to the lowest common denominator is not a recipe for success, when it seems to have worked for Facebook, Twitter, and now Reddit?

As Tracy Jordan said in 30 Rock: "I want a different answer!"

Valid point, and what is considered quality content is subjective of course.
But the point remains that most of the upvotes is not done on basis of the content, and this is the main problem as that is what curation is intended to focus at. If people vote based on popularity that is okay, but when people blindly vote whatever has the biggest payout then that is not healthy for the system. And those who participate in this 'flaw' of the system fully knowing what they are doing and how it works, are not helping and in fact hurting the ecosystem and diminishing trust in the platform.

The fact that things work now is meaningless, since Steemit is super new. Any value that it has is mostly speculative still, and could vanish in a puff of smoke if public trust in the platform/blockchain wavers. I just don't want that to happen. And you can just take a look around to gauge public opinion already: these problems are brought up many times. I kind of believe it's why the price of Steem hasn't done much lately.

"most of the upvotes is not done on basis of the content, and this is the main problem"

Agreed. We need to figure out a way to make the curation formula make it most profitable (and not prohibitively more difficult) to vote for quality content. I have begun considering options that would avoid taking more of the reward pool, such as also rewarding rep from curation (or a separate curation rep that affects your rewards from doing so), or some other way to incentivize users to curate better.

I'd like to make it so that users wouldn't want to self-vote out of economic self-interest.

"since Steemit is super new. "

I'm not disagreeing with you, but in crypto terms, Steem is actually more mature than most of the market cap list, and survived it's first 97% death spiral drop. That's one reason I'm here.