You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Real Reason For Steem Savings Accounts (For Beginners)

in #steemit7 years ago

is the steemit wallet safe to keep plain old steem? I don't keep my eth in coinbase because its in someone elses hands and online, like steemit?

also is it possible for a hacker to change your password thus keeping you from doing anything about the hack?

Sort:  

A hacker can only change your passwords if they have your master key. If they change your master password, you can proceed through account recovery to get your account back. To do so, you'll need one of the keys you've used in the past 30 days.

As long as you keep your keys secure, the steemit wallet is safe. However, if you know you're not going to use the Steem in the next 3 days, you should put it into savings.

disclaimer: I'm not a security expert.

So how do you move steem to savings? I don't see how you can that. I'm still a noob. Thanks.

I figured it out. Duh.

In your wallet, click the drop-down arrow next to "STEEM," then click "transfer to savings"

Thanks. I was able to figure it out. Took me a little while to find. But I appreciate your response. Thanks again.

You're welcome!