You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let's Talk—How To Deal Effectively with Steemit Skeptics on Facebook and Reddit!

in #steemit7 years ago

I do note your example of India, where $5-$10/day can mean a lot to someone. I've taken a different approach in that I've been explaining the platform to a few people, but have minizmied the money aspect at first because I think if you come in with a 'hard sell' with that feature, it can turn people off, thinking it's a scam.

Also as a female, it's tricky because once I start talking about cryptocurrency, I begin to see blank stares. My softer sell approach has been to mention Steemit those that write blogs or are creative in other ways that are trying to get noticed (but aren't right now) and presenting Steemit as a easier way to get noticed as the community is much more engaged here. Then I mention the monetary aspect. So far I've been liking this approach, particularly with females.

Sort:  

That's a great way to go about it. It gives me more ideas to go forward with a softer approach! Excellent comment!

Thanks. I see it as an exentsion of what new users are recommended to do here when they get started. That is, post quality content, interact with others and up vote/resteem, and then the money will come (maybe). Even the most money minded people can appreciate that, because liking a bunch of posts on FB or IG gets zero dollars. Here you at least have chance, in due time.

you are right

It really is sometimes more about how you say it than what you say. Where a rational argument can sound like you are selling a multi-level-marketing scheme, sometimes the softer approach is better.

can confirm. much less likely to get the obligatory "ponzi" response when I dont mention the money aspect until after they understand the censorship resistance and open source platform.

I like your gentle approach