You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unable to edit? Pictures are missing and there is no way to fix it. This has ruined my blog.

in #steemit8 years ago

Imgsafe also deleted a lot of my pictures, some as recent as a few weeks old. They are 404. They aren't blocking Steemit like imgur did afaik. I don't know why they got deleted.

The inability to edit post-payout is also very frustrating to me. I've made some guides that need updating due to the security changes.

I understand it was an emergency measure to minimize vandalism with stolen credentials. However, my posting key that I was logged in with at the time the exploit was posted was never used by anyone else, and was changed after. Therefore I want the option to affirm I know my keys are mine, and be allowed to edit my posts.

The coming fork disables post editing after payout on a network level. I will be very frustrated if this never changes. I think an on-chain solution can be found: Make a blockchain switch, toggleable with the active key, that allows edits to any post. This way, if a user wants to edit past posts, they can toggle the edit switch, edit the posts with the posting key, and then toggle the edit switch off (and/or it could have a time-based shutoff). Alternatively, and possibly more simply, the active key could be used to edit a post past its first payout. But this could be risky, security-wise.

Sort:  

Alternatively, and possibly more simply, the active key could be used to edit a post past its first payout. But this could be risky, security-wise.

That is a reasonable idea. That is all that's required for internal market trading, and editing a post is less important than that. If they actually trust their new security policies, then that is an good solution.