Making your Steemit account name appear at the top of every list? They'll probably fix this

in #steemit7 years ago

When my account was first made and I needed to find people to start following, I did what a lot of new Steemers probably do. I found an account that seemed to of had similar interests as me and I went to their follower list. In theory these accounts would be a good place to start connecting.

I started at the top of the list and started clicking follow, follow, follow... not the most genuine way to connect with people but I was just trying to get off the ground. Then, I noticed something.

Alphabetical order.

I kept exploring. Every list - alphabetical order. It doesn't take a hacker to know how you might take advantage of that to gain traction and exposure, to get a head start.

The very first people I followed I did so simply because they were at the top of the list. Somebody named "aaanderson" was my first follow. I went and checked - all of the accounts with this alphabet-leading names had hundreds to thousands more followers than the average account. More followers = more exposure = more upvotes.

It may be to late for us with our already existing non-strategic account names, but it's something worth noting (maybe telling a friend as he or she goes to make an account). What do you think? Do you think this will change along with some other shortcuts for gaming the system?

follow.PNG

Sort:  

Too late for me but on the flip side. Everything digital points to my actual name TKKinney.com in one way or another so hopefully, in my case, there is a ripple effect that grows my youtube, instagram, twitter, blog, etc.

That's a good point. I wonder if anyone is taking popular bloggers' names in hopes that they'll one day try to buy it from them. For example making something like "dailymail" or "tasty" your account name while there's still basic ones up for grabs

Are you talking about Steemit account names?

Welcome to Steem @pickarje I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit @pickarje :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Awesome thing to point out!

I didn't think of this. Maybe that is why I didn't get many followers ha ha. @zebbad

I'm in those last pages, in the Z's if you dare to search for me...

Pretty interesting point! Saw this just as a friend of mine was signing up, so I told him...good save :D

Good lookin' out man =)