Word to the wise - DO NOT use Coinbase

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

For the past few weeks, other than rapid drops in price for both Bitcoin and Ethereum. Ether had a drop today for over a significant amount of backlog on its network. I watched the trades drop significantly to the point of even $13 for about one minute. That blew my mind sideways! As soon as that happened, Coinbase served its slice of frustration. In the past, the company has been notorious in the community for shutting people out from their account balances. Not to mention, their customer service rep's are total ludacris who don't respond to emails promptly.

It is an absolute mockery to manipulate the market this way. I would not recommend anybody to keep money in their hands unless you are willing to take the risk of losing your investment, or even a good trade, and I know people don't like bringing up Mt. Gox but this sure does smell like it. Prepare adequately!

Step 1. Get a Cold Storage or Paper Wallet

Step 2. Safe Keeping

Step 3. Happy Life

Screenshot_2017-06-12-15-11-23.png

http://www.coindesk.com/13-ethereum-ether-prices-plunge-2500-gdax-exchange-flash-crash/

Sort:  

I couldn't log in for months and I finally received an email from "Jeb the support bot". They canceled my account and would not give a reason. That was a couple months ago. You can read the letter from Jeb here:
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@earthtone/why-you-should-close-your-coinbase-account

Awesome article and video! Very similar to my situation, these guys think they can monopolize this market and get away with it too. Gemini is similar, I applied 3 weeks ago and still haven't been approved. I can not wait until another exchange thats 10x better than them comes out that will blow these exchanges out of the water. Any suggestions in the mean time?

Yes. Here is a suggestion. Stop using the dollar. Stay in crypto. The exodus is on.

Great advice. Always keep your keys in your control.