Steemit Success: Celebrating My 700 Followers Milestone, My In-Depth Sharing on the Who, Why, How, Where And When Of Followers And A Giveaway of 10SBD For The Most Voted Comments

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


Image Source

Be forewarned that this will be a very long article, perhaps the longest post that I have written so far. This is because I want to share in total (no holds barred) how I achieved my over 700 followers milestone and how you can do it too.


Image Source

1. Who Is A Follower?

A follower is anyone who clicks the follow button on your profile page and your post will appear on his feed. One thing we have to realize is # Not All Followers Are The Same. Therefore the quality of the followers is much more important than the numbers of followers.

Firstly, I want active followers which means users who are active on Steemit who are more likely to read my post and vote for me. If most of my followers are inactive, then it is unlikely you can get a lot of votes.

Secondly, if possible I prefer followers who are interested and like my content, what I write should resonates with them. In this case, the chances of them voting for, commenting on and resteeming my post will increase exponentially.

Thirdly, it would be most ideal if my followers can become my fans. In this case, the line becomes blurred on whether they vote for me because they like my content or just because they like me. A case in point is a poor quality posts with lots of likes. Take a look at what @kevinwong has to say about shitpost

You can check who are your most loyal supporters/followers at SteemVP


Image Source

2. Why Are Followers So Important?

The attention economy is prevalent in the internet as well as on Steemit, there are just too many things on line that compete for our limited attention. On the Steemit platform there are hundreds of thousands of articles, and my articles will be buried in that pile. That’s where the role of my followers kick in. My article will appear on the feed of my followers just like my Facebook post will appear in my Facebook friends’ news feed. My followers can vote, comment and resteem my post.
More votes will mean more earnings. The comments given by my followers will make my contents more rich and interactive. Better still if my followers resteem, my post will even reach a wider audience. So the more followers I have, the wider will be the audience that my post can reach. Please note that there may be random users who happen to come across my article, and they too may vote, comment or resteem my post. The challenge to me is how to convert these random users into my followers.

For proof that followers are extremely important, just take a look at the trending page. These are the articles that are earning thousands of dollars. These articles maybe on different topics but the common factor is that each of these trending authors have lots of followers.


Image Source

3. How Do I Get Followers?

This is the million dollar question, how the heck do I get people to follow me. From my own personal experience and from my personal observation of successful bloggers here, the number one method of getting followers is, the more my contribution to the Steemit platform, the more followers I can attract. The more I can help others, the more followers I can get. Steemians can help other users in a variety of ways such as sharing tips with newbies, creating logos, developing apps or tools for Steemit, sharing tips on how to make money from cryptocurrency and the list goes on. An excellent example of contribution is the SteemJ.com by @jerrybanefield which is currently trending. Therefore it is critical for you to ask yourself, how can you help other users, how can you enhance their user experience, how you can encourage or motivate others. Only you will know what type of skills set you possess and how you can use it to help other users.

Another critical factor is the quality of post that you produced. The posts that you produce are in a way like your calling cards, these posts reflect who you are, and the time and effort that you have spent in writing the post. Therefore, quality is much more important than quantity. It is the quality post that will attract followers. You are building up your followers, reputation and presence at Steemit one post at a time. You will this post written by me on how to create quality content very useful.

The level of your interaction with other Steemians is highly correlated to the number of followers you will attract. The more active you are at Steemit, the more deeply your presence is felt, the easier it is to attract followers.
First of all, you need to interact with your followers on a regular basis. Your followers have taken the time to read and vote for your post and may even have posted some comments. The least that you can do is to acknowledge them by thanking. Do answer promptly any queries that they may have.

Secondly, you can also interact with other users in the Steemit platform through the following ways:-
(a) Do make an effort to comment on the post of other users. The tip here is to comment as if you are starting an conversation with the user. Read this post on why you should fill out the comments section.

(b) Take part in contests, giveaways and other projects at Steemit to make your presence known.

(c) Interacting with other Steemians at Steemit Chat and at Discord. There are different channels for different topics, find one channel you are interested in. There are some post promotion channels for the posting of links.

(d) If a non follower leaves a compliment on your post, be thick faced and invite him to follow you for more similar post. Since he has shown interest in your post, there is high probability that he will accept your invitation. However just leave it at that, and let him decide whether to follow you or not. Under no circumstances should you pester him.


Image Source

4. Where Do You Find Followers

(a) You need to know who the target audience for your post are. For this particular post, newbies and those who want to increase their number of followers would find this post very useful and there is a high chance that they will follow you if they come across this post. The best place to find newbies is in the introduceyourself section of Steemit. Therefore before you even begin to write the post, you should already know who your target audience are and try to think of ways to put your post under the eyeballs of your targeted audience.

(b) Using the correct tin tags will help to place your post in the right subject matter category and thereby reach your target audience. For this post, I will use the tags steemit, steem, newbie, howto, steem-help. For my poetry posts, besides the poetry tag, I will also consider using tags such as verse, poem and writing. You can also go to the trending tag to check which tags are trending.
If you abuse the steemit tag (i.e use the steemit tag when your post has nothing to do with Steemit), you maybe flagged by Steemcleaners.

(c) Be sure to hangout at the relevant SteemitChat and Discord channels as mentioned earlier.


Image Source

5. When Will I Also Get 700 followers?

Rome is not build in one day, building a followers base require time, effort and persistence. The correct attitude is very important and we all should take a long term approach as recommended by none other than @dantheman in his post.

Do not be too concerned initially how much your post earn. Even if your post earn 10cents or less, but you have written a good quality post, you will notice that you have actually gained 2-3 followers from that post. My advice is to keep on writing quality posts and as the number of followers grows, your earning will also increase. I wish I can tell you that there is a magic formula but there is no short cut when it comes to building quality followers, increasing your earnings and eventually finding success at Steemit.

To enter the giveaway contest you need to do all of the following:-
a) Up-vote this post;
b) Write a comment; and
c) Resteem this post

The comments that received the most number of votes will win 10SBD

Spreading positivity one post at a time.
Charles


If you like my writing please up-vote, share, comment, and follow me. Please help me to spread the message of positivity and support on Steemit by resteeming this post.

Sort:  

beep beep

Beep. Thanks for dropping by.

I am a firm believer in being and staying positive ! It has always been my motto here on steemit ! That along with dedication , patience and persistence , you will go very far on steemit and in life ! Just never give up , relax and have fun !! Steem on my friend ! Upped and resteemed ! 🚀🚀🚀👍👍👍

This type of attitude will get us far. Thanks my friend.

Haha ! Onwards and upwards , were heading to the moon and back my friend ! Woot Woot !🚀🚀🚀🚀🚀

Wishing you success as well my friend. We can do it together.

If I gain Followers from a post that is a bigger win than a huge payout!!! Thanks for keeping at it stay PositiveSteem!!!

Payout is only temporary, followers are for the long term.

I pledge to be your most faithful follower and everyone that checks your post will upvote this comment... pretty pleaaasee :)

Thank you so much for your support. This really means a lot to me. I will try my best to deliver quality post.

Congrats on 700 my friend. I really enjoy a lot of your poems. Prisoner of the mind, I believe is the title of one of your more recent posts that I enjoyed. I have been working on building up my numbers and putting out content as often as possible. I like to share my journey on Steemit as often as I can because I feel like a Steemit sucess story already. If you follow much of what you said here in the post, you will create your foundation and be well on your way. I joined in May 2017 and have just passed 620 followers. It can be done and taking the advice given in this post will put you on the right track to thrive in this marvelous community. Thank you for sharing. Cheers
Followed and upvoted. Feel free to check me out and follow back if interested. Cheers

Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your Steemit journey with me as well. Steemit is a very collaborative platform and we can succeed together. I will check your profile.

This post received a 3.0% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @positivesteem! For more information, click here!

congratulations Friend. I am really happy for you

Thanks my friend

Interesting read, especially the part about thinking about how to give back to the community. Love eeet :).

Whatever you give will return back to you in one form or another.

wow thanks for this ! :)

Very informative post. Thanks for sharing your experience with us new users.
The best part about this community is most of the people realize the value of going forward and progressing together, rather than competing with each other all the time.
I think if we are able to maintain this kind of an attitude within the whole community, there is no stopping and going back from there.
Cheers! :)

Very true. Steemit is a supportive community, we are all here together, sharing and learning together with each other. I never felt that I am competing with other users here

Congratulations, friend! :)

Thank you my friend.

Congratulations mate, Here's to many more! And great, informative article :)

Thank you for your well wishes. Do follow me for more tips.

Congratulation for your 700 followers ! Your post is very clear and well detailed! I like that you create content to help new ones even if you are already well advanced on steemit! It seems like a full-time job to take care of our relationships on steemit! Good job :)

Though I write a lot of poems, I also like to share my experience so that I can help others.

Nice to do :)

You were one of the first Steemit users that followed me, albeit it was only on 3 days ago. I have kept up to date with your content and look forward to reading more. It is frustrating only earning small amounts, but as you say, gaining followers is just as valuable. I look forward to the day I can tell you I HAVE 700 FOLLOWERS! Cheers!

Look at the long term. If you put in the effort and be consistent, you can achieve 700 followers

That's exactly what I plan to do.

Then you are on your way to success.

Just follow and resteem this post if your steem.power is zero i will upvote your one post
upvote this post then comment your post link which you want should I upvote it
If you not following me you should follow me then do it
https://steemit.com/upvote/@crypto-booster/upvoting-started-followers

My advice is to keep on writing quality posts and as the number of followers grows, your earning will also increase. Gooooood

Very good advice. That is what I have been doing

Thanks for the pointers @positivesteem.

I agree that quality is key. I personally don't care for posts I see that show a minimal amount of effort. If all you put in is the minimum, that's all you will get out.

Love the post, keep on being a positive influence in the steem community!

Thank you for your kind comments and well wishes.
Do follow me and lets spread positivity.

Congrats! Keep Steeming :)

Congratulations on your achievement! Way to go!

Thanks my friend

Congrats!

Thank you my friend

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jul 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $23.29 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 04 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Congrats!!! wish you all the best.

Thanks my friend

Congrats man!!! =)

Thank you my friend.

Really great information for someone new like me .

Glad that you find the information useful. Do follow for more

Yes. Nice post, man. Nice tone to it. One cool writing trick is to see if you can remove the pronoun "I", which forces you to focus on the object of the sentence. So rather than

This is the million dollar question, how the heck do I get people to follow me. From my own personal experience and from my personal observation of successful bloggers here, the number one method of getting followers is, the more my contribution to the Steemit platform, the more followers I can attract.

maybe:

the number one method of getting followers is to contribute value to the (in this case STEEMIT) platform.

We, the readers assume that it's from your personal experience and observation, because you're writing it, and you're not citing another reference or (god-forsaken) study.

I hope that's useful. (obviously). : ) looking forward to more.

Thank you for your suggestions. Most of the tips are based on my personal experience.

This is really great advice. Thanks a ton!