Sort:  

I agree with you here. People don't question the content posted on other social media platforms. But steemit is very different for one big reason; there are actual monetary payouts here. When people submit these random photos and memes, they are not contributing their own work; they are trying to make money off of work someone else has produced. In a sense it's plagiarism. I'll happily upvote user-made memes and photos all day, but I do not support the use of random-image bombing to make money.

Because people are payed for the content they put out, I think there is a bit more responsibility people have to take when posting. That's the point I think people try to make when talking about what should or shouldn't be posted.

You may wish to control them but hey Steemit is decentralized and uncensored. Your pin pointing creates the opposite impression on new users. "Branding is everything".

True and understandable. These are valid points for sure. When talking about how users post, I'm also trying not so sound like someone imposing a lot of rules, but rather someone offering friendly advice. I don't want to say "you're not allowed to post this", rather I mean to say "content like this tends to be more successful". Yes, perhaps that's manipulative (you've given me a lot to think about), but people who discuss what people post are generally looking out for those users as well, though I admit that often is entirely obvious.