You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Steemit Changing? And Is It For Better Or Worse?

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Thank you.

But its not only you.. many bloggers thinks "Single Image posts" by photographers are worthless.

Maybe this is a platform for the Bloggers... I am still not sure photographers have a place here..

I have been successfully posting photos on my Instagram profile https://instagram.com/prakashghai and have about 48000 followers there.

I sacrificied my Instagram time to be here.

But time and again I get cues that this is probably not the platform for photographers.

Steemit seems to be completely biased towards writers/ bloggers.

But Steemit can never make it big if it doesnt support photographers.

*just a point I wanted to make, for I do feel out of place and to be frank it doesnt feel like there are 1,80,000 users here... maybe a fourth of them or even less. The reach of the tags is disappointing.

Making images on Instagram saves me advertising money, for the reach is huge. Here, its 0.7 cents with 11 reach. On instagram I get 2000+ reach and engagement of 700 odd engaement per "Single Image Post".

So I am at a loss posting here.

Sort:  

Stay optimistic!

Any unique content has a place here, despite what anyone might say! Written posts definitely make up a lot of the content but there are a lot of great artists and photographers on here. Contests like photo challenges are starting to pick up a lot of interest and I think driving the artistic steemit movement. Even if you are sharing just one image, as long as it's your own content, it's a symbol of your creativity and individuality; hopefully people don't make you feel like that doesn't belong here.

Definitely get active on steemit chat; it's a great way to connect with other authors and artists and I think a lot of people don't realize what a great tool it is. You could even look into creating a group that focuses on sharing and supporting the photographers of steemit. You could also try to interest your instagram followers in moving to steemit! This will help grow the community as a whole and get some of your fans introduced to the wold of cryptocurrency...a win for everyone!

We're still a very young platform. When I joined on, it was pretty much ALL cryptocurrency articles; even tags like science and politics weren't very common and art was almost never posted (at least as far as I saw). I think as we grow, we will see an uptick in support for these types of content.

Thank you for your advice. :)

But, I only use my "Peak Energy & Creativity" on creating unique photo compositions and finding good subjects.

If I get into marketing and push-based network building, my photo creation gets affected. Vision is difficult to develop & maintain.

I am very true and honest towards my work.

The "Push" that I could do, has been done on Instagram and to be frank I am no longer interested to start all over again on a new Social Media platform for Zero, especially when all of my friends are now Anti-Social media and deleting all their accounts.

Even I have had over exposure to social media.