Punisher #2: The issue with randowhale...

in #steemit7 years ago

Punishment is coming:

photo.jpg

For several days, I follow this new fad created by @randowhale. You send 2SBD to his account and you get a random vote between 1% and 50% for a post you send in the memo as URL. Interesting idea.

I tested this for several occasions randomly to deserving, nondeserving, noobs, stars, big payout and low payout posts. It works as desired. You get a vote for the indicated URL. I was lucky for those I chose. Most got 40%+ votes. So it was a good deal in a way. Although, you won´t get your money back and will be ignored, if you want to promote something that already has an upvote ( I tested that, too )

Let's think about the background for a while:

Steempower holders get curation rewards for using their power to upvote. The idea is, to find good content, upvote it and find content that is good for the community and will raise the quality of Steemit for all of us. What randowhale is doing is the following:

He optimizes his curation rewards. Getting 2 Steem or 2 SBD for himself added to the curation rewards he is getting additionally. Pretty opportunistic, but very smart at the same time. It's a pitty that he seems to care more about the money than about the content, but who really cares. I wish he would care more about the content than about the money, but I can't blame him.... no punishment for him.

freedom-2053281_1920.jpg

BUT:

Randowhale gave us a tool and it always depends on how a tool is used if it is good or if it is bad. While testing, it barely came to my mind to use it for myself. But while checking the randowhale uses I see almost everyone using it for themselves...

GREEDY LITTLE BASTARDS! You rape the reward pool for your unimportant self-rightous crap.

I hope that this randowhale project is kind of a honeypot created by @berniesanders / @engagement to find out all you greedy little ones, to flag you down into oblivion with his full power, when the time is over to counteract the flag.

hands-1319602_960_720.jpg

Conclusion

  1. Those of you using randowhale for yourselves... adjust your moral compass or you will burn in hell!
  2. For those who use randowhale to tip others in a way that their own power is not able to: Choose wisely high payout posts. THX for what you are doing. This makes Steemit a better place.
  3. Check if the URL you want to promote already has an upvote, else you loose your money.

PS:

I also found a quite funny adaption of randowhale. I count that as sarkasm but I fear that bigger bot-army holders totally corrupt the genius idea of steemit in this way: Randominnow

And finally this one, which seems to be a pure scam: https://steemit.com/@randomwhale

You have been warned.

Back to a world of killers. Rapists. Psychos. Perverts. A brand new evil every minute, spewed out as fast as men can think them up. A world where pitching a criminal dwarf off a skyscraper to tell his fellow scum you're back is a sane and rational act. The angels thought it would be hell for me. But they were wrong.

Sort:  

This post received a 27% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @bittrex! For more information, click here!

Ignore this junk. @randowhale is exactly what it says and nothing else. Don't mind this stupid conspiracy theory.

It's actually kind of doing what promotion should do.

True. Still there is a bug and the fact that randowhale is earning quite nicely with it. People should know about that. System immanent possibilities explored / exploited + adding value in a sort. I really think people don't read what I say...

People already earn by voting - I don't see how it is any different. I someone sees a gap in the market and uses it to make money there is nothing morally wrong with that as long as they are not scamming people. I have started using Randowhale instead of the promotion to give people's posts a boost - it gives a better result.

I hate to repeat myself... I still hear you supposing me as against randowhale... I am pro randowhale if used as (great) tipping tool.

It can be used any way that anyone likes. It doesn't matter what you think.

So... it should be forbidden to express my thoughts? Sounds quite totalitarian to me.

Well... no idea if you didn´t read, or didn´t get it, or even didn´t care...

I said: It´s a great tipping tool.
I said: there is a bug, you could watch into that
I said: I WISH you'd see a difference between the people voting themselves and those voting for others. Thus purely subjectiv what I feel is wrong or right.
I said: It's a clever way to increase curation (nothing wrong about it, just a little bit selfish imho)

In fact randowhale is the opposite of what the real berniesanders is preaching.
While using his power to shut down unwanted opinions sounds much like him.

No conspiracy and surely no junk. Even a hidden compliment for randowhale, while exposing the real scammers like randomwhale. No idea what has gotten into you @berniesanders @engagement

Thank you for posting @punisher.

Appreciated the gift up-vote and that you appreciated bleujay's post enough to up-vote with @randowhale's tipping service.

Really have not yet decided how to use @randowhale's service......at the moment the idea at least for bleujay is to view it as both a tipping service and a game.

People who use it for themselves should not necessarily be seen as greedy or selfish.......this could be seen as energies exchanged and since it is rando...m....therefore not biased.......how is it different than many of the other contests which abound at Steemit.

Thank you again. Cheers.

Hi! Have you heard about @krwhale? It is similiar with @randowhale. For your information please click on.

FLAG THIS SPAMMY TRASH!!!