My wife hasn't received an account acceptance e-mail yet.

in #steemit6 years ago

Hi there guys,

We have started the account creation process for my wife on Friday the 12th of January, but after the e-mail confirmation she hasn't received anything more. Is this normal, and are we just a little impatient? I think my account was accepted a day after sign-up.

Regards,

Q

Sort:  

Success? Some of my friends never received the approval email. They had to try to register from different email addresses. But finally all succeeded.

As Steemit is in Beta all accounts are human verified rather than an automated system. It's actually quite cool because it keeps a lot of other undesirable stuff from occurring in regards to hackers and people robbing the reward pools. Some still get through of course, but they have to work harder to do so. In some cases the account verification and issuance process can take up to 7 or 8 days, so sit tight. I'm sure it will be with you shortly. Once your wife is on shout us and we'll be there to help out.

Thank you @mudcat36, You responded in a really quick time to my post, how do you do that? I do not get any notifications on replies?

You can allow the site through your browser to allow steemit notifications. The reason I caught it so quick though is at the moment I'm trying to get an initiative off of the ground to help newcomers to the platform. It's only 24 hours old and those who are working with me on it and myself have a long road ahead of us to really get it to take off. As it's all centered on promoting and guiding new users I watch my feed quite closely to provide help if needed. Speaking of which, have you managed to secure your account keys? There are hackers on the platform sadly and if you don't secure your keys then every time you post someone could potentially sack your account. In the early days I used to spend a lot of time trying to track and catch people doing it and it's amazing how quickly it can happen. If you need step by step instructions on account security then shout me and I can walk you through it.

I have changed from my master key to posting, thanks, that was a big "no,no". Ill check my browser, Ive got popup blockers active, so Ill start there. Well done on your initiative, with it being only 24 hours old I believe its caught fire already. Let me know if there is any way I can help. Tell me, is there a private message function on Steemit as I haven't stumbles onto anything yet?

No private message function I'm afraid. I hope your master key is backed up off line and now that your account is secure you're Steeming with ease.

notifications of replies.