The truth behind 100% payout vs 50/50: OMG, why didn’t I know about this before?

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Since I joined Steemit, my aim was to power up as there is no point for me to withdraw cash for small amounts and investing in Steem is the way to go for the future, I want to invest for the long term.

So to save me some time (no need to go and convert SBD to STEEM and then to Steem Power), I though I would just go and just check the 100% payout for my posts.

What a mistake, at least now that 1 SBD is over 1 USD!

See this post of mine for example:
D20396BD-CC2B-4C92-95FE-0D9CA28020A5.jpeg

It is currently worth $76.51 STU with 100% payout it is 22.09 SP. So, author payout is 75% which is 16.56 SP.

If I have chosen 50/50 then it would have been 75% of $76.51 STU = $57.37 STU in the form of 28.68 SBD and 8.28 SP. 28.68 SBD would convert to about 32.482 SP, so total payout would have been 40+ SP!!! That’s about 24 SP difference... 😩

Oh well, I’ve just learned the hard way, wouldn’t be the first or the last time... One more reason for me and check the market before posting new content.

Read more about this on @steemgoblin post over here:
https://steemit.com/writing/@steemgoblin/if-you-re-taking-100-sp-payouts-you-need-to-stop-you-re-robbing-yourself-step-in-here-let-me-explain

@quochuy verified Steemit account

I don't follow for follow, I don't upvote for upvote. If you make quality posts that I like/enjoy then I will upvote and/or follow you

Sort:  

I didn't know this too! Not that it makes a difference to me at this point as my posts don't have much payout! (Sob sob) But this is definitely a great tip!

Most of my posts are not worth a lot either but definitely a good thing to know before you get a popular post...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by quochuy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

you should have done some research before doing so. there are a number of tutorials about all this stuff

I’ve done a lot of research on how Steemit works but this was the first time I saw this info. I’ve even made a post to ask if someone could explain the 1 SBD = 1 USD thing while the market has a different price for 1 SBD and no one explained this stuff above.
And “you don’t know what you don’t know”.