A Day of Canning Plums

in #steemit7 years ago

In a previous post I showed a picture of my youngest plum tree, which was loaded with plums. Last weekend I picked them all and spent the afternoon canning.

IMG_1296.JPG

I used a light syrup to hold down the sugar content. I am looking forward to some good eating this coming winter.

IMG_1299.JPG

Then a hot water bath. It is just the beginning of canning season. Lots of work but the reward comes this winter.

I have been having internet issues so it is taking me forever to upload photos. I have wireless internet and have some trees starting to block my signal.

Hope you enjoyed the little I was able to upload... Have a great weekend all.

Sort:  

DQma3V6cpNCdeVhB87PCMcZLc1J8BKDzCJvVxtENkGLoWxC_1680x8400.jpg

Apple for you @r2cornell

Thank you. Apples are on of my favorite fruit.

Oh Really,i like it too...apples and guava is my most favorite fruits.... @r2cornell

549+87.jpg

Congratulations @r2cornell! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Using irrelevant tags, especially popular tags, makes it hard to find good and relevant content.
Please try to use only relevant tags when posting!

#steemit

Please only use the “steemit” tag for articles distinctly related to Steemit, the website, itself.

:o(

Cannot believe how anal some people can be. Don't read it if you don't like it. Going to turn this place into facebook...

yeah.. dont like just leave...

No I am staying. This is only the second time someone has irritated me. I just muted him. A tag is just a tag. I even read early on about using Steemit and steem to get more exposure. Steem on!

opps.. sorry i mean him. not u

Hey bro nice plums...looking delicious....how many types of fruits trees you have bro...
@r2cornell

I think plums are grow and availble in winter season only ..remaining season which fruits you supply bro....@r2cornell

I have cherries, pears, apples, other plums, raspberries and a cold hardy peach. Some are young trees are young and are not yet producing fruit.

Ho ok bro...is plums are seasional frits or availble in all seasons in your place...@r2cornell

Seasonal. So I can as much as I can for the winter


This is so great post.i sharing to your post.thanks for your given nice post.many many thanks @r2cornell

Hey looking very nice rabits and carrots.....really looking awesome...

Thank you

Great work @r2cornell 👍
you gonna enjoy plums during your winter lol

Thank you.

Great post @r2cornell sir, i really appreciate your work and effort, i hope you find great results of your hard work.

Thank you! I appreciate it.

Canning is an old forgotten skill - takes some time and a lot of patience .
always getting some cans with fruits when I visit my grandma :)

Yes it is a forgotten skill. Growing up if it was not for my mother canning all summer there would have been some lean times. It is a lot of work, but it sure is a nice feeling when the shelves are lined with all kinds of canned goods.

Brings back such fond memories of my Dad bottling fruit and making jams, they were yummy (Mom was not allowed in the kitchen, all hell broke lose). Apricots, Figs, Peaches but then we lived inland, now reside at the coast and have pawpaws and banana. Enjoy those plums in the winter @r2cornell nothing like reaping your rewards later.

Tasty and sour plums....
Have a look into my blog, you may like any of my posts :-) keep voting @piyushkansal

Thanks for viewing. I will check your blog out.

thanks sir...

nice post sir, wow..great to see those delicious plums, great that u r harvesting these plums from your tree..i like organic things always...keep it up @r2cornell .Thank you.

Thank you! Hope to get back to posting soon. I finally reachedthe final stage of shutting down my business...now to get back to fun things as i absorb semi retirement

Good posting, i do'nt know, this fruit, beucase in my country nothing

Thanks. Not sure what to compare it to. It has a unique flavor. maybe a little like a peach. I do have a plum-peach cross that I planted this year.

i only eat the preserve one only..

Wow so good to see :) Excellent work @r2cornell

Thank you!

always a pleasure seeing your post :) keep steeming :D

Thank you! I appreciate that.

Excellent work @r2cornell

It's awesome to see the results :)

Thank you. I have been tempted to open a jar, but my next plum tree has enough for fresh eating, so I will hold out.

So many Plums wwowowo

Thank you! The tree is only 3 or 4 seasons old. Each year I am getting more fruit.

you have taken good care of it so you deserve More fruits for your hard work :)

Thank you! ;o)

Indeed your hard work is paying off @r2cornell. 😃

Thank you!

Your Welcome @r2cornell 😄

Excellent work you have done i hope your internet connection gets perfect soon :)

Thank you! Unfortunately I will have to do something about 2 trees to have it improve. It may be another 18 months and the wireless company will be putting a tower on the mountainside behind my house. For now I will see what I can do with the two trees.

I do have a chainsaw, but due to high temperatures and poor air quality (smoke from forest fires settling in on us) I have been putting it off. I am hoping by this coming weekend I can get at it.

oh so that's the reason for slow connectivity may be the professionals can help you out with that

Looks delicious and ready for another season.

Thank you. We will have good eating this winter

wow..great to see those delicious plums, great that u r harvesting these plums from your tree..i like organic things always...keep it up @r2cornell .Thank you.

Thank you, I appreciate it.

Good supply for the Winter :) @r2cornell

Yes. It will taste good this winter! ;o)

These plums looks definitely delicious.

Thanks. I ate plenty while I was canning and they are wonderful. Have another tree coming along but there is only enough to eat fresh... ;o)

Now you made me wanne get some prunes at the store :'(

Thank you. After I finished canning I thought of dehydrating some. I do have two other plum trees with fruit. One of them make excellent prunes. I believe it is an Italian plum.

Show us if you do so. Love to see the process and maybe some pictures of the trees :)

Will do. I am hoping the Italian plums will ripen before we freeze out. They are still green.

This is the tree I picked the plums from.

Great to see those pictures :) You gonna enjoy eating those plums in the winter

Thank you!

I know this fruit and its benefit....for sugar patient its an excellent one and in india it is generally found in himalayas..i am glad that you are having your tree to have such fruit..and when u pick a fruit from your own tree and eat that...then it gives a great sense of pleasure than by buying the same from the market. Thank you.

Thank you for your comment! I love watching the season progress to the time for canning, and then to see the shelves lined with good fruit.

you had an amazing day :)

Thank you! Yes I did.

lots of plum that really cool

Thank you.

all set for winters :)

Thank you! Yes we are getting stocked up for the winter months.

yes it good to get stocked up winter are coming :D

Wow the fruits are looking very nice and tasty.... How their taste is....? I never seen this fruit in our country (INDIA)

Thanks. Not sure what to compare it to. It has a unique flavor. Maybe a little like a peach, if you have that fruit. I do have a plum-peach cross tree that I planted this year. They are delicious.

Wow very nice, you doing a great job.... I have also posted some amazing fruit from our garden you can see them by visit my blog.... Thank You for the tip..... @r2cornell

Thank you. I will visit your blog!

Thank you for visiting my blog @r2cornell... Are you check the pomelo & Guava post... I have a question in my mind that are they grow in your country or not???

I do not recognize them. Possibly as a specialty fruit but in the sothern part of thw country

@r2cornell following you and upvoted.... Keep it up..... I like the post you did..... @supriya1993

you'll be eating alot of them by winter i see. Great i'd like to have such a tree aswell :) always loving your posts!

Thank you very much. Hope to keep more coming. I did not add as much detail as I would have liked due to exhaustion, and problems with my internet. These plums will be great when the snow starts flying.

@r2cornell That's a lot of plums. I guess you'll have a lot of fun enjoying plums during winter.

Yes, will be eating good this winter! Thanks for viewing.

it good f can post it to me a bottle. lol

:o)

just how like my grandma used to do :))

Thanks! As someone else said it is becoming a lost art. I tried to teach my daughter and then granddaughter how to do a lot of things. Maybe someday they will pick up on it. ;o)

I hope :)) in my country, at least, it is still quite popular, the majority of people who live on the rural part do it, and they come into the city to sell it in markets...and oh, for next time you should try to can cherries, they're absolutely delicious :))

My parents had some acreage in the country and sold produce at markets in the city. It was a good portion of their annual income. I grow for my families use. I grew up on fresh fruits and vegetables, and what was put up for the winter. Never adapted to buying from store. Farmer's markets are pretty good. I save money doing it all myself.

I had some pie cherries this year and was able to get most before the birds helped themselves. I have several sweet cherry trees coming along nicely...looking forward to that.

Great, your lifestyle should be followed by many...have you ever thought about going fully indepentent? Like relying on your own solar panels to power up your house

I saw your intro. Beautiful community! Love the looks of the buildings!

Thanks for checking me out, Romania is indeed a pretty unique place, still a bit stuck in the past but we manage to hold up :))

There is nothing wrong about being "stuck in the past". I live outside a small town and have been in the area for many years. I was sorry to see the modernization that has begun.

You make a good point,

wow this is really great work

Thank you!

Have a great day sir..

That's so awesome. Mine are not ready yet, I think. I like to make jam from them, it's so great :)

I have two more trees with a lot less on them; different varieties. One should be ready soon, while the last one is much later.

Sweet. I have some trees that make a kind of white plums, they are even better than the usual ones.

White plums sound interesting. I will do some research and see if I can locate someplace that sells the young trees.

It worths it. They are my favorite :)

Umm yummy fruits

Thank you.

Awesome work @r2cornell sir, i love this fruit its tastes so good, in our country it's called as "Alo Bukhara".

Wow bro.. @r2cornell you have been working really hard ! Keep up the good work :)

Thank You

Hey bro nice plums...looking delicious....how many types of fruits trees you have bro...
@r2cornell