I'am only in Steemit for a very short time but I already have a feeling that there are bots that are out of control on posts. Let's stop spam and make great Steemit (again).

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)


If you look at the following screenshot, you will see the average posts / introduce yourself. There are up to 5 different bots who post random spam comments on new posts.

You see @wang, @calva, @steemster3 & @weenis commented on the post. As I write my introduction, I'm glad people welcome me. But I wonder how they can answer it at once. Do they even read my post? The only useful user / bot seems to be is @wang the post actually helped me get started here. But the other one is pure spam and you see it in other posts as well. I also see other bots that I did not mention like @xem for example who also tried spam comments.

How can we stop this from happening? Here are some suggestions:

bots must be approved by team or community, not everyone is allowed to spam the public as they see fit

Limit the number of posts / upvotes that certain users can give in a certain time - this can be based on reputation so that useful users like @wang can stay on board and ultimately we do not censor users.

can allow a way to mute certain users globally for a period of time after it accepts enough downvotes from too many users

But that does not stop there, we also have real users who do spamming. In every other great post, you see people promoting their own content. I see. It's hard to notice because of the number of people using this platform - and this is only the beginning. But this should be fixed now if it's too late. You find lots of posts like this:

People promote themselves on irrelevant topics. Hunt for profit. I see. People want money, who does not. But that's not how it works. CONTENT TO PROMOTE HIMSELF There is no need for excessive spam. Look at other Steemers like @piedpiper. If you check your posting history, you'll see that he's made a lot of posts that do not make money. And all his latest posts make money in the range of 30-6000 USD. What I'm saying is: do not try too hard. Provide content for content and not for money in the first place. And finally everything will be fine. Here are some suggestion limitations that prevent this kind of spam from overhand:

Do not let people call their own posts in external posts more than .. say 3 times a day

do not let people post the same link many times if it has been updated first in another blog

Mute a particular person globally for a period of time if spam behavior continues
I love new content and I think bots can be very helpful. But this should not be out of control - and maybe if we do not start fixing it now.

Follow
@ramdacu49

Sort:  

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Thank you I will try to improve better in the future

While I think your criticisms come from a good place, I think there is an aspect of this site that you may not be taking into account.
This is a decentralized site. It lacks a single governing body. Restrictions and censorship are what it aims to prevent.
If we wish to enact change within the site we must do so with our votes and words.

I dont post as much as I used to, because more bots respond than people, and its really creepy. The bots remind me of the popup ads that would inundate your computer back in the early 90's. Bots are the ultimate form of digital douchbaggery invented so far.

Yes I understand, if your post spam maybe bots will respond, but bots will help your post if the post is good, many bots will help improve @marcoagarcia3rd