Is This How A Destroyed SteemIt Account Looks Like?

in #steemit6 years ago

Realmandi Profile 2018-07-22 04-10-29.png

I just came across a disturbing.... something ... on SteemIt. Being fairly new myself to the site and the whole ecosystem I'm not familiar with how everything works. So, surfing to change that, I commented on a post about beer-brewing, very insightful. But right there at the end in the comments section, a gigantic warning sign not to interact with a certain user, RealMandi, caught my attention.

Realmandi Scammer 2018-07-22 04-06-00.png
I have to ask, oh so politely, in my best British accent: WHAT THE FUCK MAN?!

I'm in too much of a hurry now to properly investigate, but it seems this guy was phished, and a hacker took control of his account, or something. Or maybe he is a phisher himself. It just blows my hair the wrong way when seeing he had made a whopping 3 600 posts so far, so clearly he was/is invested in SteemIt. And to lose it all just like that, just because of SteemIt's filthy monetary incentives? I mean, we love writing and creating content. To have it all taken away by a greedy fuck that's just after some Steem Dollars or whatever misty shit is just so wrong.

I really got a bit of a dislike in this platform now. And make no mistake, this kind of crap is what makes people turn away from the whole idea behind Steem, which actually translates into the currency losing value. Why interact on a platform full of crooks and dishonest spammers and scammers?

RealMandi's posts seem really nice, and innocent, and helpful. But then to check the comments on his latest post spoils the mood and leaves a really sour taste. It's like every scammer, spammer and con artist got an invitation to a conference there.

RealMandi Phished 2018-07-22 04-09-03.png

Anyway, it may be time to give good ol' Blogspot and WordPress and Medium and Tumblr a look again. Fuck this obsession by cellar rats to steal virtual currency from others.

Sort:  

I literally just posted, and half a second later a fucking bot, a bot! replied! What is this site?! And no option to delete his silly, irrelevant comment. Hopefully I can ban it. But frankly, my patience is wearing thin with this kind of shit. People should read and respond, not goddamn bots.

I flagged the bot for spam … let's see if its comment disappears..

I told the bot to fuck-off... and it replied with another idiotic comment! Thank you for flagging that bot, I'm gonna do the same just as I figure out how. I haven't yet spent a lot of time on SteemIt.

@remil , You can Make a Report.
Make this place safer for everyone.
Good Report , do also get Tips Reward.
Can claim from me.

Congratulations @remil! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

You may rely on it

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.